Five for Friday v. 10

I know I’m barely getting this one out on Friday. It’s been an interesting week. 

IMG_1477
one We did our first pool day this past Sunday. It took a day that was mostly chores and getting ready for the week to come and elevated it to an exceptionally relaxing weekend day. We read, sipped drinks, and enjoyed the sunshine in an enclosed area that blocked the wind. It was pretty much perfection.

two This was a rough week. I turn 30 on Sunday and it’s bugging me more than I want to admit. I had too much free time and fought a general malaise all week long. Add the unrest over turning thirty to that and the sadness over having no family to celebrate with and it made for a difficult week.

IMG_1481three I received a gift card to DSW for my birthday week, only to find out that they carry almost no shoes in my size. I’m either a 10W or a 10.5M, but they only carry 10M and 11M. It was disappointing. I spent an hour wandering around on Thursday without finding anything. Today I went back to try and make something work (re: gift card) and found these hiking shoes in an 11 that actually fit. Only in this color though. But, it’s perfect as we’re planning to hike this weekend and we do a lot of hikes with the people who gave me the gift card. These shoes are somehow associated with Jeep, and are 100% vegan and made from recyclable materials. I tested them on a walk with Loki today, and I think they’ll be great. Tomorrow’s 6 mile hike will be the real test.

four I received two compliments about my teaching this week. The first was directly from a parent, I gave their child a trial lesson this week. They commented as they left that I did a great job of explaining everything in a way that made the complex subject matter very simple to understand. It made me smile. Then, tonight I had another new student and after they went home, they called back into the studio to tell the owner that I was amazing, explained everything very well, and that they can’t wait to keep working with me. I know that I’m a good teacher, but it always is nice to receive positive reinforcement. In even better news, I’m at four hours of teaching on one day at the first studio, and four hours over two days at the other which is awesome. Studio one is opening up my second day and begging me to figure out another weekday that they can schedule me on. Only downside is that they want the same day I’m already committed to the other studio.

IMG_1482five My mom managed to completely surprise me this week. Way back at Christmas, a beloved friend asked me about my Mom making her a navy and white chevron scarf. The friend wanted to pay for materials plus my Mom’s time. I ended up gifting her the scarf for Christmas in her Easter basket (yeah, I’m slow). My Mom mentioned after that if I wanted to buy one more skein of each color, she would have enough to make one for me. A few days later, she asked if I had purchased the yarn and I hadn’t yet, so she told me not to worry because she would just get it. Cue me forgetting all about it. They sent me my birthday gift early because they were giving us tickets to go see Phantom of the Opera live here in LA. This whole week she mentioned that I had another package coming with a little gift and still I didn’t remember. It made my night to open it up and find the scarf – it’s the perfect SoCal summer scarf (it was originally made for a Houstonian after all) and I just love it. I’m still obsessed with navy and chevrons and I don’t see that changing any time soon.

 

 

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five for Friday v. 10

  1. San says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope you had a lovely weekend!
    And that’s so nice that your Mom sent you this scarf!! :)

Leave a Reply

