Five for Friday v. 9

 
one I could eat sushi every day. The commissary on base recently began selling fresh rolled sushi and I’ve already eaten it twice. And by recently, I mean just last week. While we were at dinner last Friday with B’s friends from out of town, we discussed what everyone would choose if they could only eat one thing for the rest of their life. I picked sushi. And it’s true, as long as it took me to come around to eating it (seven years), it is now my favorite food type. 

 
two We played tourists last weekend while hosting B’s friends. Many things were learned. First, a one bed/one bath loft apartment is not big enough for four people and I loathe sharing my bathroom with strangers. Two, LA is a fun city to be a tourist in. We hit up Hollywood to watch Mad Max at the Chinese Theater, did the La Brea Tar Pits, and hit up the Griffith Observatory to cap off the weekend. It’s fun to start putting together ideas of where we would take other visitors. 

  

three Loki and I ran two miles without stopping to walk at all. That’s a new record for us together. He’s run further with B and I’ve run further, but not since my surgery. It’s fun to feel like we’re hitting our stride. Unfortunately, today my knee was bugging me, so I’ll have to watch that as I keep going. I would like to avoid injury as much as possible. 

  

four B is six short weeks away from graduation. I’m not ready for him to be out on the streets. I’m incredibly proud of him, but I’m terrified of what is to come. His whole schedule will change, our normal will change. I’m trying to be excited, but the anxiety is there. I’m fearful for his safety. I’m fearful for our sanity. I wish there was a magical course that would make me feel ready for what is to come. 

  

five Teaching is going well for me. I’ve secured a preschool gig for the next school year, plus will be teaching at two studios in the area. I’ve gone from one student to six at one studio in only a week. At the other studio, I’m at about the same amount, plus I’m teaching some summer courses. I’m looking forward to following this path that I’m on. I’ve missed teaching and I’m quite glad to be back at it.  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five for Friday v. 9

  1. San says:

    It took me a long time to like sushi, but now I love it! We just had sushi for our anniversary dinner this week! :) I even got my parents to try it when they last visited (Sushi restaurants are a very new thing in Germany).

    I am glad you’re loving LA. I miss living there sometimes.

    I hope the transition to B’s new job will me smooth. I can understand that you’re a little anxious.

Leave a Reply

