Attitude

 

depressed puppy is depressed


 A couple of months back, when B had to get his CA driver’s license, I left him in line by himself at the DMV because I couldn’t take the wait any longer. I was peeved at unclear instructions, people trying to cut the line, and just a whole mess of problems. I told him that I just wasn’t good at waiting. Only, it didn’t sit right with me. I don’t want to be the person impatiently waiting in line full of sighs and huffs and sardonic eye rolls. 

So I decided to change. 

Stuck in traffic? A chance to use the car Bluetooth to catch up with a loved one. 

Waiting for two hours for my car to get serviced? How nice to be able to relax while someone else changes my oil and rotates my tires. 

A long line at the DMV? An opportunity to read a book. 

It’s been a weird experiment. I have more patience when waiting now. I know the people working are doing their best. And I know from experience that getting upset doesn’t make the time go by faster. Quite the opposite, honestly. 

I feel much more chill now, which is exactly how I want to be. I can’t change that I have to wait, but my attitude adjustment has made me a much happier person. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

