Dream Living

 
From the first moment that California made an appearance on our list of places to potentially live, I nurtured a dream about our life here. We would live close enough to the coast that I could go to the beach whenever I wanted. I would live in shorts or maxi skirts. My job would be flexible enough to accommodate my beach and maxi dress lifestyle. 

After years of the USAF telling us where to live and controlling my job prospects, I was beyond excited to set my own pace of life. I want to put down roots for awhile. I want to be part of a community and actually see my students progress past the first level of books. 

When B decided to accept the job here in LA, there was trepidation. We were giving up other dreams to chase this one. That is the way of life, you can’t live every dream at once. 
I’m rapidly closing on two months of my new life. The one I started after quitting my first job here in SoCal. The one I started when I decided to embrace my music teacher identity. I have a lot of thoughts about why I tried to fit so many different molds, but those aren’t for today. 

Today, I’m finally living my dream. I wake up and have time to walk Loki and enjoy this gorgeous weather. My windows are open to let in the fresh air. I go to work to teach small group music classes to preschoolers or private piano/fiddle lessons to individual students. My schedule is flexible and of my own creating. I’m living and breathing a wonderful life. 

There were risks along the way. But the rewards, oh the rewards, have been very grand. Every morning, I am thankful because I love my life and can’t wait to keep living it.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dream Living

  1. losemymouth says:

    Inspiring. Taking that leap is so scary and painful, or at least it has been for me. Your post gives me some hope!

    • It was scary. So much was tied up in it – money, expectations, my dreams that I had to distill it down to its essence. I wasn’t happy, so even if it meant less money and disappointing people, I had to give it a go. I’m so glad I did, definitely a risk that was worth taking.

  2. San says:

    So glad that you are where you want to be in life! Enjoy every minute!

Leave a Reply

