Five for Friday v. 7

  

one We spent Saturday of last week up hiking at the Castaic Lake recreation area. B’s parents met us there with Sam and we all enjoyed hiking along the lake side. The park was hosting an obstacle run the next day, but was blissfully deserted while we were there. When we pulled in to pay for entry, the lady at the gate told Loki to have fun running and swimming. Which made us completely shameless about letting the dogs tear around off leash. We did have a close encounter with a snake, but luckily it was more interested in sunning than anything else. It’s a good reminder to be more aware when we’re out hiking. 

 

two Loki ran his little paws raw on Saturday, which meant that we socked him off and on over the next two days to give them a chance to heal. He was incredibly unhappy with wearing the socks, to the point of refusing to eat a treat until I took the socks off of him. Speaking of raw, I was terrified about how it would feel to see Sam again. She and Loki yipped and yipped at each other and jumped all over each other. She hesitated a bit at the end, but as soon as MommaD called her, she eagerly hopped back up into their car. It’s nice to know we can see them and her so easily.  

 

three I’m substitute teaching this week at a music studio nearby us. One of the teachers is getting married in Hawaii this week and another went down as a guest. This left plenty of students in need of lessons and I’m getting to teach some of them.  The studio owners left me flowers as a thank you and good luck wish on my first day. It was such a sweet gesture and I already can’t wait to be part of their regular rotation. The other studio is working to get me 3-6 classes going for this summer which would be amazing. I’m so grateful for the opportunities that I’ve found here. 

 

four We’re starting to book up having friends come out to see us and I couldn’t be more excited! A couple of B’s friends are coming over Memorial Day, my bff is coming in June, and another childhood friend of B’s is coming in July or August. I wish we had a house with a guest room, but our friends are all excited to see us and don’t care too much about crashing on couches or air mattresses. We’ll be doing different mixes of touristy activities with each friend, which is nice as it will help us continue to explore LA. 

  

five My 30th is rapidly approaching and B and I are struggling with what to do for it. He wanted to take me to go see the Phantom of the Opera when they come down here, but the ticket prices were higher than what I would ideally pay for one night. We’ve tossed around the idea of a quick cruise or trip to Vegas as a combined celebration of both our birthdays and our anniversary. The issue there is timing – with both of us just getting started in jobs, we would probably have to wait until the fall to do that. Now I’m thinking about something simple like a nice dinner or a baseball game. There are a lot of options, I just want to be reasonable while still feeling like I’m celebrating. 

How do you like to celebrate milestones? 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five for Friday v. 7

  1. San says:

    A baseball game and dinner sounds like the perfect birthday celebration to me :)
    Happy to hear that Sam and Loki can still hang out occasionally!

Leave a Reply

