Five for Friday v. 6

  

one When we first moved down here we decided to embrace exploring the city, one restaurant at a time. The idea being that for the first time in our married lives, we live in a big city and there are lots of food options to explore. We try to hit one new place a week. This past Saturday, we wandered into the little town right between us and the coast and wandered the streets before picking a place to eat. We ate outside, relishing the weather and the fact that this town has a distinctly Mayberry feel all tucked up in the larger metro area of the city. After, we wandered some residential streets with me dreaming of one day. 

  

two Loki has always been a cuddle monster. Always. But, in the last two weeks since he became an only dog again, he’s really reverted to climbing onto the couch to snuggle with me. I hadn’t realized how much I missed it. He and I are both doing better at missing Sam. We are supposed to see her on Saturday for some hiking. I’m hoping it will go well and not lead to a multitude of tears. 

 

three I joined my recent ex-coworkers this past Tuesday to go to the second Dodger’s game of the season. They haven’t had a rain out since 2000, and while we did end up delayed by 20 minutes, that streak continues. It was wet and cool and they lost, but I definitely enjoyed going out to watch a live game. The only thing I hadn’t missed was how expensive ball park food is. I would definitely eat first next time. 

 

 

four Girls nights out have been few and far between for me over the last few years. B has had a bit more luck with guys nights, but really it’s been sparse for both of us. I used to go out way too much when I was single. I miss that though. I think we’re both hoping to make friends and start doing more than just hang out with each other. We like spending time together, but it’s nice to have other options. 

 

 

five B’s schedule right now blows. He’s in bed anywhere between 8 and 9 pm and up and gone before 5 am most mornings. Up until this week, I’ve been going to bed with him. Since I had the game on Tuesday, I’ve been tucking him in and then doing my own thing until I’m actually tired. It’s pretty much my least favorite way to live. But, it beats going to bed with him just to toss and turn and keep both of us awake. That always leads to a night of fitful sleep for everyone involved. I’m definitely counting down the weeks until this is over (13) and we can hopefully settle into a better routine for seeing each other.  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five for Friday v. 6

  1. San says:

    Did you already know people in LA or where do you find friends so quickly?
    I am glad you’re enjoying the city-beach-life :)

Leave a Reply

