Five for Friday, v. 5

 

one I’ve been planning a gallery wall to go along a staircase in our home for long before we’ve ever had a staircase. I love the idea of mixing paintings, pictures, signs, license plates and anything else I can find to create a wall with texture. I love that it tells the story of our life. Right now we mostly have wedding photos up there, since I just ordered free prints from the wedding, but I intend to mix in vacation photos too. It’s my modern spin on the old wall of pictures. 

 

 

two We spent last Sunday out on the beach playing volleyball and it was just the best. There was no pressure to be good and plenty of laughter. It was also a good reminder that beach season is here in SoCal. I’ve been getting up at 0515 every morning to hit the gym before work. My stress is down, I’m less tired, and the bonus is that my weight is down as well. I won’t pretend I don’t want to drop a few pounds, but the other two factors are way more awesome to me right now. 

 

three Our apartment complex brings in a food truck every three weeks or so and we’ve thoroughly embraces this aspect of LA culture. This week’s truck was MeSoHungry and it was beyond delicious. We ordered the Flying Hawaiian Chicken sliders and the KTM sliders – both were utterly amazing. After living in places with somewhat limited food options, it’s nice to have an overwhelming amount of good food to try. We try to hit at least one new place a week, which is all kinds of fun.  

 

four I’m slowly coming to accept our decision to rehome Sam. I know it’s the right one. She’s struggled with he stairs all week – slipping and sliding her way up and down them. It is both easier and harder knowing how excited my inlaws are to have her. Easier because their joy is contagious. Harder because I’m still losing my baby girl. It’s pretty funny though, after all this time of my FIL talking about how much he would take Loki and how he wasn’t ever going to get another dog, he’s head over heels for the idea of having Sam. Still, it’s hard to know I won’t have both of them watching me come up the stairs anymore. One more week.

 

 

five Something that I’m blaming on my rapidly approaching thirtieth birthday is my utter acceptance and happiness with myself. I’ve recently come to determine that I’m pretty and don’t need to hide behind a wall of makeup. I’m also embracing my love of color and wearing what makes me happy, regardless of if it is cool or not. There’s something crazy exciting about deciding to accept and love yourself. I’m not even sure I decided though, it just sort of happened. If this is that mellow chillness people refer to when talking about how awesome their thirties are/were – I can’t wait to experience more of it.  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 5

  1. Meg says:

    Oh my gosh yes! 30 was such a peaceful acceptance that just sort of happened to me a few weeks before the big day. I’m glad you’re feeling it too! You are beautiful!

  2. I LOVE that your apartment complex brings in a food truck!

  3. Alison V. says:

    Love the wall decor!

Leave a Reply

