Random

It’s beach weather here in SoCal. The days are gorgeously sunny, the nights are still crisp and cool, and the sun is perpetual. I’m pretty sure I’m living in heaven. People keep trying to complain about it being too hot and I’m just not hearing them. I spent a whole year not seeing temperatures above 75 degrees Fahrenheit. I think I’ve earned my actually-warm-enough-for-a-bikini weather. Yep.

We’re heading to the beach tomorrow to hang out with some of B’s classmates. He’s promised that they’re bringing significant others. I don’t mind hanging out with the guys, but it would be nice to meet some of the girlfriends/wives/what have you of the people he’s in class with. We’re doing brunch at an awesomely boozy spot and then hanging out and playing volleyball for awhile. I’m pretty excited about the fun we should have.

Work has been an interesting mix of ups and downs for me. The ups are that I have leeway to do what I want regarding pretty much everything. The downs are not getting paid on time due to interpersonal issues in our office (seriously, if it happens again, I’m lodging a formal complaint with the partners), and other people doing stupid things that reflect poorly on the firm. I’ve earned 4 hours of “overtime” which they don’t pay, so I get it in comp time. I’m hoping to take off a day B already has off and enjoy a three day weekend with him.

I started working on our gallery wall today. I’ve been obsessed with mixed media gallery walls for quite some time now. Ours has paintings that I’ve done of all the states/countries we’ve lived in (except California! I need to fix that!), pictures from our wedding/travels, and license plates/signs from living overseas. I’m hoping to add more travel/wedding pictures, pictures of the dogs, and a couple of small signs to tie everything together. Regardless, having our pictures on the walls makes this place feel more like home.

I told B today that I was feeling my biological clock ticking. At least so far as owning a home is concerned. I’m tired of renting. I’m aching under the knowledge that we’re going to pay over 30k this year in rent. That we’ll never see back. But, we’re also not quite in the place to buy. Next year, when our lease is up, will be perfect, but that doesn’t make it easy to avoid open houses or searching/dreaming of owning a home. Surprisingly, hanging all of our artwork has actually helped make this place feel more like home. Which, makes me more content to stay here for another 11 months. Even if what I really want is to buy. If you know anyone who wants to sell a townhome with a small yard in the South Bay area of LA, let me know. Haha.

I’m still worrying about my Sam. Today, I had all the pictures laid out on the floor for the gallery wall, so B called her upstairs. It took her three or four tries to get up them. She kept falling and it was clear that she was uncomfortable/in pain/not happy about going up them. It hurts me. I don’t know what to do for her. Do I give her to my in-laws, knowing they will love her and she won’t have stairs but will miss us or do I keep her with us but know that she will continually struggle with the stairs? Sometimes it seems like a no-brainer. But mostly, my heart hurts and I can’t make a good decision.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random

  1. I know you’ve made your decision on Sam. I know it was incredibly hard but you are such an amazing dog mom for doing what is best for her. It is so wonderful that you have an option for her. Though I hope you know, I too would have gladly welcomed her into my home and loved her like crazy.

    Also, my heart skipped a beat when you said, “I told B today that I was feeling my biological clock ticking.” Glad it is just about buying a house! ;-)

    • Hahaha, it scared him too when I said that. Definitely just about wanting to own a house – but, hanging all the pictures and making the decision on Sam has made it easier to accept this place as home. It’s just hard to realize that we’re paying out well over 30k a year that we’ll never see back. If that’s not good incentive to buy, then I’m not sure what is.

Leave a Reply

