Five for Friday v.4

And so it’s the weekend, and what have we done. Another week over, a new one not yet begun.

That’s how it goes, right? I have never had a job this much fun to work and this exhausting. Every day is a marathon from start to finish. I’m never not busy. Most days I barely remember to eat lunch. And I’m loving every second of it. But, now more than ever, I’m wishing that three day weekends were every weekend. Sometimes I wonder how much of our lives would be improved if we all worked four and threes instead of five and twos.

one This week has been full of learning experiences. About the only negative experience has been with the office drama-llama. On my first day, I was asking my training coworker about dress code and the drama-llama jumped down my throat about how their boss was out of town and it was okay for them to be dressed more casually. I treated it as an aberrance, but that unfortunately hasn’t been the case. The drama-llama has jumped down my throat multiple times this week and generally acted like the long-time employee who is merely suffering my presence. Only for me to learn today that they only predate me at the company by a few weeks. See also, they tried to throw me under the bus today to one of our bosses while also yelling at this boss. It didn’t go well. Here’s hoping they straighten up. The good news is that they’ve been instructed to be unfailingly polite to me and I’ve been told I do not have to put up with the behavior whatsoever.

two B had to be up at 0300 on Thursday morning, so we went to bed on Wednesday at 2000. I was exhausted and fell asleep immediately, which never happens. Unfortunately, around 2130, some idiot burned their dinner and opened their front door, setting off the building fire alarms. We all evacuated and stood in the cool night air for 20 minutes, B all groggy and holding the dogs, me with my purse, his wallet, and our important documents folder, until everything stopped so we could go back in. The bad news for me was that the power nap combined with the adrenaline meant that I didn’t fall asleep again until after 2330.

three We’ve been struggling with the reality that Sam, our German Shepherd isn’t adapting super well to this apartment. She has bad hips, and we not only live on the fourth floor, but we have a loft in our apartment which means more stairs. The loft is set up as our living room, so there are times when we make multiple trips up and down that she’ll choose to stay downstairs instead of coming back up to join us. She also sometimes falls up and/or down the stairs. It’s rough. B’s parents offered to keep her for us, which led us to a breaking point. I cried for two hours straight yesterday trying to talk about it. Ultimately, we’ve decided she’s staying with us for now. I think she’s happiest with us and she’s hanging in there. We’ve also decided to use the elevator as much as possible when taking her all the way downstairs to minimize how much she has to be on the stairs. I’m also upping her hip and joint supplement amounts to see if that helps too. Hopefully we can establish with a vet soon and get to work on making her as healthy as we can.

four We’re getting together with some old friends tomorrow for brunch. I’m super excited to see them again. We saw the husband back in December for a quick lunch and it was just like old times. Hilariously enough, the last time we lived near them, back in Germany they were expecting their first child, now they’re expecting their second. I’m really hoping that we can all reconnect and that we’ll have a set of friends here in town again. See also, I’m hoping the wife has a hairdresser she can recommend that won’t be too expensive. My root situation is getting pretty bad.

five I want all the work clothes. Blazers in neutral colors, bright blouses, neutral pencil skirts in fun prints. I want it all. I was complimented by a client today on my Aztec print pencil skirt and it reminded me how much I like having put together looks that are both fun and professional. I need to be more professional in this job than any prior, so I’m looking to trade out my cardigans for more blazers. Now to just get paid so I can finance this new wardrobe.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday v.4

  1. San says:

    I work a 4/10 work schedule and have three-day weekends (most of the time). Don’t fool yourself, 10+ hour days are LONG (I usually don’t get anything done during the week), but the three day weekends are glorious! You can get used to them fast! :)

    • See, I’m thinking that really we just need to work thirty-two hours a week. So four days, but only eight hours each day. That’s my idea, anyway.

      B used to work a 2-1-2-2 schedule that was pretty amazing. He worked 12 hour days, but never more than two in a row, still had every weekend, and had a day off midweek to take care of errands and the like. I don’t want to work 12 hour days either, but I still think some type of alternative to working a 5-2 is needed.

Leave a Reply

