Five on Friday v.2

We move into our apartment tomorrow, so today has been the unending task of getting everything packed back into our suitcases. I’m trying to have everything pretty much loaded up so that tomorrow morning it’s just throwing in the last of our stuff and hitting the road. The puppies are not at all happy by the reappearance of suitcases, much less the act of loading the car. Hopefully they’ll forgive us when we take them away from this gorgeous location.

one We got to view our apartment on Wednesday. We took a measuring tape to it, though we didn’t have time to take photos due to the carpet being really damp. We’re both really excited to be in this space, though I may be slightly more committed to downsizing things we don’t need than he is. But, he’s also better at visualizing things in spaces so, he’s probably right about what can fit where over me. Right now I’m just trying not to stress about where we’re going to put everything. We’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

two Speaking of, I received a call yesterday morning from the moving company in charge of our move. They explained that since we had indicated wanting our stuff next week (well duh) that they would at least pick up our stuff from ND next week. But, first we had to make some phone calls and send some emails. I had it all done within twenty minutes. There’s no time to play around when you’re waiting to get your belongings. Today though, the military emailed us back and told us it wouldn’t work for a stupid reason. So we returned that email explaining that we’d already discussed that reason and it was a non-issue. And we emailed the moving company who called the military and were like, we’re making this work so why are you trying to throw up a roadblock. I’ve got my fingers crossed that they can still move forward with pick up next week as planned.

three I had a job interview yesterday, which is what facilitated my going down so we could see the apartment. It was a complete disaster. The interviewer told everyone to come at the same time and then wasn’t on time themselves. I was the first of what appeared to be about twenty people to all come in a one hour slot. I spent approximately five minutes in the room, though I wouldn’t call it an interview so much as a cattle call.

four  I have an appointment next week to change over my driver’s license. This will be the first time in my life that I won’t have a TX driver’s license and I’m actually struggling a bit with the identity crisis there. None of our other moves have required me to change thanks to the military spouse residency relief act. Now though, that’s gone and I have to legally become a resident of our new home. While I’m excited about this, I’m also a bit apprehensive.

five We are all ready to file our taxes, except that our bank filed for an extension on getting us our investment documents, so we have to wait a few more weeks. The frustrating part is that we’re getting a decent sized return and we could use that now. However, we think we’re safe to not have to pull any more from savings to cover the moving costs and the gap between paychecks for B. Now if I could just find a dream job, with a short commute to our apartment, that pays well and wants me to start 1 March, life would be perfect.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five on Friday v.2

  1. Meg says:

    In the 20 hours between when I first saw my new apartment (that I had already committed to sight unseen) and when the moving guys started getting my stuff in, I was FREAKING OUT that it was too small and not going to fit! Turns out, it did, I actually have room for a little more too! It will all be good once it’s in…and you have that job with an adorable little commute (in LA?!)…until then, keep enjoying walking those pups in the sunshine!

    • B is pretty calm about it all, which is calming me. He’s much better at visualizing than I am.

      I’m definitely soaking up as much sun as I can, while I can. As to the commute, I mean, a girl can dream, right? ;)

Leave a Reply

