The Void

Don’t mind me, I’m just over here casting out resumes into the void. Every time I hit submit or apply or send and watch my resume and cover letter disappear from my screen, I can’t help but wonder how many it will take to get any kind of a response. It feels like paying your dues in a way, before you can even get a job you have to jump through so many hoops, apply to so many jobs, and wait so many months.

This is compounded for me by having a choppy resume. Made more difficult by my switching career fields. We won’t even get into knowing if this is what I want to do. I want to work – why is that so hard?

It doesn’t help that I feel like I’ve spent most of the last few years moving and thus applying for jobs. Spring 2014 in North Dakota. Spring and Fall 2012 in Turkey, Fall 2010 in Germany, Summer 2010 in North Dakota, Spring and Summer 2009 in Texas…it would be really nice to work in the same job or place for more than a few months. It would be nice for my resume too. It doesn’t matter that I initially moved for love and then got dragged around by the military, my work history is really choppy for someone as far removed from college as I am. Don’t get me wrong, I address the military aspect in my cover letter, but that doesn’t make it all rainbows and butterflies.

They say it’s not so much about what you know as who you know, which in California means I’m SOL. Have to just get by on what I know and what I’ve done and hope that eventually a job offer will come back from the void. Until then, I’ll keep flinging my hopes and dreams up and away, into the void on the back of my resume.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Void

  1. Alison V. says:

    applying for jobs is so deflating. I’m worried about finding work once we move. Seems like it’s all about who you know, and when you are new to an area, you don’t know anyone!

    • That’s exactly it! I know that one job I applied to received 85 applicants in one day. How do you ever differentiate yourself? Another job had twenty people show up at the same time for an interview, so my experience thus far has been frustrating for sure.

Leave a Reply

