Home

I’ve had so many homes over the last few years. A somewhat dingy apartment in Germany that I adored because of the open space and how centrally located it was. The home in Turkey that had plenty of space to have our friends over but also saw too many tears. The tiny apartment in North Dakota where our table was shoved under the island bar to have room for everything to fit but we didn’t care because they allowed dogs.

And now a new home to be found. It’s not easy finding something affordable in a big city, but add in having two dogs – both big and one technically an aggressive breed – and its a recipe for trouble.

We found one company that rents to big dogs, but the management was shoddy. Checks were known to go missing, maintenance requests went unanswered, and the neighborhoods and quality were always questionable.

We found a few other sporadic places. The problems were varied. I can live with cramped and dingy. I can live with paying more for my dogs. I can’t live with shower heads that hit the nape of my neck. I can’t live with exorbitant rent markups. And I don’t want to live with an overly ridiculous commute.

When we started searching, my MIL told us to not minimize our lives. It’s a nice sentiment. But. Our budget isn’t endless. Something has to give.

We had a list of what we wanted. Two bedrooms, at least a thousand square feet, in a good location, not too expensive, and of course would take the dogs. And it seemed that finding that wasn’t going to happen. We had to eliminate some requirement somewhere or come up with significantly more money every month.

I would rather have location over size. Somewhere close to where we work. Somewhere that doesn’t require a long period on the road before and after work each day.

I would rather not minimize my lifestyle. I’m okay with downsizing my furniture. I’m not okay with counting every penny to the point that life isn’t fun anymore. I want to go out to brunch and get ice cream on the beach and just live.

We ended up going with location and rent over the size of the space. It will be an adventure. But I’m actually excited to downsize our belongings. We won’t be going minimal by any means, but we’ll trim the fat and make it work. While still being able to get take out when we want.

What do you prioritize when finding a home?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home

  1. amireallyme says:

    We tend to prioritize budget-friendly & space > location. Mind you, we found a swanky deal with the house we’re in now, and we bought before the housing market started booming here. And where at first we thought we might have to move to get a 4th bedroom, we’re thinking that if life keeps us here that we’ll just renovate this house. (I blame copious amounts of Love it or List it.)

  2. I just moved from 600sq ft to 350 and it’s an adjustment but not the end of the world. Granted, there’s just one of me, and it’s San Francisco so not having to sell a kidney to find a place to live was a luxury. But it can be done. You find what you like and you make it work.

Leave a Reply

