Accidental Realisation

Today started my road trip from ND to TX. It also marks the first time I’ve driven any distance by myself since I left TX to go to ND in 2010. I’ve always shared the car with B since then. Which means that I’ve always shared the radio. Mostly we listen to the iPod with B adding in some comedy sketches and audio books. I’m a music girl when I drive, but I always just stick to his playlist.

When I started the drive today, I decided to use the radio as much as possible to alleviate getting bored with my own music. Trust me, it happens all too often. Sometimes I loathe the way my music shuffles. Whilst scanning for clear stations I stumbled upon a classical station. By the time it faded on me I had listened to a piano concerto, a symphony, as well as some shorter works. I was hooked. I haven’t listened to classical musical much at all since leaving graduate school. A few random delvings into my favorite performances on YouTube is all. I haven’t truly listened well and with appreciation since early in my undergraduate career. Mandatory concert attendance wears one down.

But today, oh today, the music sparkled and it carried me on my journey. The only downside is that my drive cut through so many states, 5 today, that I missed out on finishing pieces and found that infuriating. When I lost the last station in the midst of Brahms’ 2nd Symphony, I furiously called B and promptly told him I wanted an iPod dedicated solely to classical music. Which is ridiculous because I currently have plenty of room on my phone.

In the safety of my hotel room, bolstered by free wifi, I downloaded some of my favorite works. Rachmaninoff’s 2nd and 3rd piano concertos, Hindemith’s 2nd Piano Sonata, Berlioz’ Sinfonie Fanfastique, and a collection of works by Gershwin. I am so excited for tomorrow’s drive and its accompanying soundtrack of fabulous music.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accidental Realisation

Leave a Reply

