See You Later

I hate goodbyes. Full stop. When B and I were dating, my only goal was for him to not see me cry when we said them. If I was doing the leaving, I tried to hold it together until I cleared security, but only because they side-eye you when you’re blubbering your way through the line. When I dropped him at the airport, I always had a good friend on their way over with a bottle of wine to sit on the couch and sing sad songs with me.

The military has a habit of saying see you later rather than goodbye. It is marginally better. You never know when you might see someone again, but it’s a crazy small armed forces world we live in. We’ve run into random people B knew at USAFA in Germany and Turkey. Friends from our first base ended up at our third base. So you don’t say goodbye, you just don’t.

But really, you’re saying goodbye. You’re saying farewell. You don’t know when you’ll see them again. You don’t know if you will. One friend we said see you later to died at his next location and we never did get to see him again. Still, it softens the blow. At least a little.

We (I) said see you later to our friend group here tonight. It’s funny, we’ve been here the shortest amount of time but we had the best developed group of friends here. The most people who would all go out of their way to set up events and do things together.

I say this every time we move, but I’m going to miss the people here. The location sucked. The weather blew. But the people made it all better. And that is hard to part from, whether you say goodbye or see you later.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to See You Later

  1. Feminine and Feline says:

    I would just stick with see you later because it has a happier ring to it.

Leave a Reply

