Moissanite

Delaney-9515I will never forget the moment when we went looking for my engagement ring. We got engaged on a Saturday night, it took until the following Tuesday for us to head to the mall. I really had no idea what I wanted, but I did know that I loved sparkly things. The ring we bought fit our means at the time, but it didn’t really make my heart sing. Don’t get me wrong, what it symbolized – our love – was everything to me. But, the ring itself was not.

Delaney-9531It didn’t take me long to start lusting after something bigger. There were the minor slights, people asking to see my ring and responding with “ohs” that voiced their surprise and disappointment. And there were the major slights, people with obviously bigger rings directly comparing their own to my simple solitaire. But, there was also my own love of big, flashy jewelry. Be it necklaces, rings, bracelets, or earrings my motto is the bigger, the better. I hated myself for it.

Delaney-9551It took almost four years of looking and lusting at larger rings for me to voice my desire for an upgrade to B. I did so in shame and writhed with guilt. The funny part being that B, ever the pragmatic one, was far from upset. One thing we both agreed on from the get go is that we didn’t want my next ring to be a diamond. Diamonds are over priced, come with a lot of environmental and social issues, and frankly are not that special. I started looking into manufactured stones. Which led me to moissanite. It exists naturally in meteorites and as the inclusions inside of diamonds. Manufactured, it’s hardness rating is just below that of a diamond, it’s luster and light dispersion is higher. Even better, it’s ridiculously inexpensive.

Delaney-9541I knew I wanted a two carat stone. For a diamond, low quality stones of that size start around 18-20 thousand. High quality stones can obviously soar into six figures. Even if we had the money to put the down payment for a house on my finger, I wouldn’t ever feel like I could wear it. My two carat moissanite? Even with getting it reset, cost less than my original engagement ring. I get to have my huge sparkly rock, without guilt or worry. Delaney-9562I know  that manufactured stones aren’t for everyone. I’m just really glad that they are for me.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moissanite

  1. I adore your new ring! It is very pretty and sparkly. (Just like you.)

  2. CorgiMum says:

    I understand where you’re coming from. We married with an heirloom ring that is beautiful and meaningful, but not something I’d ever pick for myself. My husband has felt some guilt that I didn’t love my ring and, like you, it just wasn’t flashy enough for me. I like big sparkle. Now, a few years later, my husband just bought me a beautiful right hand wedding set (engagement ring and band) more to my liking. Are you going to have your original set sizes to wear on your right hand? Did you decide to keep it for posterity or have it reset into a necklace? You’re one of the few people I “know” who have upgraded/changed sets like we did. We also have a non-diamond … perhaps a similar kind of stone? It has fooled people in fancy jewelry stores (hooray lol) but we paid $1100 for a set that would have cost $25,000 if it contained real diamonds. I love the sparkle and have 0 attachment to actual diamonds. I’d rather spend the saved $$ on an awesome 2nd honeymoon or something ;)

    • I do still have my original ring. I want to either get it reset into a necklace or a right hand ring. Otherwise I would sell it – I don’t want to keep it to just sit around.

      Mine has fooled the fancy jewelry store people too. It is the best to stand in there while they clean it for me and listen to them freak out about how gorgeous it is.

Leave a Reply

