Easy

my heart

my heart

Life is anything but easy. We’ve certainly walked a road that has shown us that. It isn’t easy to fall hard for someone only to say goodbye. It isn’t easy to date when you live 1500 miles apart. It isn’t easy to move across the country and then move across the world to start your lives together. It isn’t easy to move five times in four years and have to start over at each location. And yet.

to hold

to hold

It’s easy to love you. You let me put my cold feet on you, even if you complain, you never make me move them. You let the dogs out when it’s cold outside and never sigh or huff or tell me it’s my turn. You take me out for dinner way more often than we should and you always do the dishes when I do cook. You go after what you want, whatever it is and you never give up. More importantly, your self-voiced main goal is to make me smile.

Delaney-9256

to love

It’s easy to be myself with you. You love every quirky thing about me. You make me want to be the best me possible. I look at you and want only the best in life for us both. When I find myself going to dark places, you pull me back and don’t let go. I’m not too smart for you, I don’t intimidate you, and my dreams are just as important as yours. You never blink when I wear heels that make me taller than you, just pull me in and tell the world that you’re the lucky guy with the arm candy. You believe in me.

to be

to be

It’s easy to be with you. We have our ups and downs. Everyone does. But we’ve always fought our way towards each other. We’ve always worked our way through whatever life has thrown at us. We make an amazing team. Whether it’s coordinating transcontinental moves or dabbling in day trading, making dinner, or playing video games, we play off each others’ strengths and protect the weakness. We know that supporting each other means taking turns. Right now, I’m supporting your job hunt. You’ve already said that once we get in place at our new home that I get whatever time it takes to figure out what I want to do. We make each other better people.

forever

forever

So, life may not be easy. But walking through it with you makes it easier. More than that it makes it better, richer, and far more fulfilling than I ever hoped it would be.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy

  1. directorb says:

    Great post! Best of wishes to both of you.

  2. I love that first photo of him. Such a genuine moment of joy was captured so well! I’m so very glad you had photos taken.

    • Me too. Even the getting ready shots. Speaking if which, there is an awesome shot of us from that set, that I’m still waiting on her to get to me in black and white. Be prepared for it to turn up when she does.

Leave a Reply

