Do Better to Be Better

gratuitous mt rainier photo

gratuitous mt rainier photo

The other day my sister in law posted to Facebook that she was out on her daily run and about to call it good when she remembered her Tough Mudder was coming up so she kept going. She ran 6 miles at a 9:52 pace. My first thought on reading it was simply, “dang” because I’m impressed and to tell her that because everyone likes encouragement, right? My second thought was of a conversation we had back in March where she mentioned hating running and not really doing it for more than a mile or two. Its hard to feel jealous though, because I know that in order for to have gotten better she had to put serious work into it.

Do better to be better.

I want to be better at running. So I need to run more. One interval workout a week doesn’t cut it. I need to run my full miles, do my interval work outs, lift weights, and cross train. I need to get up early on days I don’t have time to work out after work. I need to quit making excuses and start following through on plans.

I want to be healthier. So I need to make healthier choices. A walk with the dogs after dinner. Water to drink throughout the day. Less junk food and more real food. No more soda unless I’m mixing it with alcohol.

I want my relationship with B to better. So I have to work to make it better. Less nagging. Remembering that we’re on the same team. Finding my own interests. Not assuming the worst interpretation of what he says. More gratefulness for what he does for me. More balance in our lives together.

I want to be better. So I have to do better.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Better to Be Better

  1. Running is evil. Don’t do it. I may be biased since I have to have hip surgery from a half marathon last weekend, but seriously. Walking is awesome. Running is not.

Leave a Reply

