Self Care

It’s funny, my twitter feed is replete with lamentations by friends about being a bad adult because of what they ate for dinner or due to skipping a responsibility. It also features it share of those who claim that the perks of being an adult is getting to make those choices. I say funny, because this echoes the thought in my head that there are good choices and bad choices, indelible rights and wrongs for being an adult.

Going to the gym is always the right or good choice. Eating a home cooked meal similarly falls in that bucket. Skipping the gym for a cheeseburger and fries is a bad choice of the first order.

But what if it isn’t?

What if the right choice is the one that makes you happiest? Sure, going to the gym makes me happy as does eating a delicious home cooked dinner. But, sometimes mercury is in retrograde or it’s a Tuesday and what my soul needs is a cheeseburger, fries, and an evening of video games with my beloved. It may not make me skinnier, healthier, or richer but it does make me happier and isn’t that important too?

What if self care and being an adult was less about making some arbitrarily right or wrong choice and more about making the best choice for yourself at a given time? Some days, that’s the gym and cooking at home. Some days it’s meeting friends for drinks. It can be staying at home and reading a good book or going out and playing putt putt. It can be a day spent with chores followed by a night of wine and board games.

I think, for me, being an adult has meant realizing that there is no one right or wrong answer to most things. And that really, taking care of myself is far more complex than following preset rules.

Last night, we skipped the gym and went out then came home to walk the dogs and play video games. Tonight, I’ll cook at home and hope to go for a run if the weather holds out for me. Tomorrow, I’ll make the best choice for that day’s given circumstances. For the future, I’ll quit feeling like I have to justify my choices.

 

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self Care

  1. This post is very inspiring! Exactly what I needed to read during this time of my life. Choosing what makes us happy is an important part of self care! :)

Leave a Reply

