September

DSCN0450

dune hikers

September. You’re here and it seems there’s nothing I can do to stop your progression. You bear the threat of cooler days, longer nights, and less sunshine. You also carry the hope of the future, job hunting, and moving. I’m hoping we can come out of this, if not friends, at least better than frenemies.

All jokes of being frenemies with a month of the year aside, September is shaping up to be an interesting month. B has three job interviews on the calendar, with a fourth pending and several more applications floating out in the nebulous waiting to be scheduled. He’s still progressing on the Fed job front with offers from two agencies. Unfortunately for me, that means he leaves this weekend and spare a twelve hour turn around, will be gone for two weeks, then back four days, then gone for another weekend.

I’m feeling a bit lost at what to do with all the alone time I’ll have. I’m a hard core extrovert. I reenergize by spending time with people that I like. While some of the need to socialize has quieted thanks to working amongst people every day, I still like to spend my weekend with a good mix of socializing and being lazy. With B leaving me every weekend this month, I need a game plan. More than filling the weekends though, I need a plan for the lonelier week nights when the house I’ll come home to is empty.

First, I plan to delay going home by working out every day after work. Even on Fridays, unless I get invited to dinner by someone, I want to log some time at the gym. Second, even though it’s a total pain in the butt to do, I plan to walk the dogs as often as the weather will let me, even if it means bringing out the dreaded gentle leaders. Third, I’m going to come up with a meal plan for the entire time that he is gone so that I don’t give in to the whisper that take out is easier. Fourth, I’m going to try and read at least four books in September. And fifth, I’m going to commit to working at least four days a week on learning Spanish.

Do you have any goals for September?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

