Weekly Wishes

Why do the weekends go by so quickly? We spent ours hiking, napping, making ice cream, and trying to hit the right balance between being lazy and getting shit done. I spent an hour vacuuming out my car today and I managed to achieve 98% dog hair removal. Other than that, I actually cooked dinner last night and tonight which is a rare weekend accomplishment. Still, it seems the weekends fly by way too quickly. I’m so not ready to go back to work this week.

In other news, we’re under 20 days until the wedding. I finished hammering out the wedding day timeline with the photographer today. Now we just need to pick where to have the Friday night “Welcome” dinner. The quotations are important because it will pretty much just be our wedding party and a few extra family members. I originally just wanted to do pizza at the hotel, but it seems that like everything else in life, nothing is that simple.

Reflections – Lows:

Driving out to base for events three nights last week. After the second one, upon leaving the base for a half hour drive home after 2130, I told B that I was opting out of the optional fourth night out there. It made for a long week.

Spending most of today being productive or chilling on the computer while B did homework. I know he has to do it, but I really do wish he would do it in bits and pieces throughout the week instead of cramming in four hours worth on a Sunday.

Reflections – Highs:

Picking up my ring. I love looking at it and struggled with paying attention at the dinner on Friday due to wanting to watch it sparkle on my hand.

Making homemade ice cream on Friday/Saturday. We mixed up a vanilla base and then added in crushed Oreos for a cookie and cream flavor. Definitely fun to do and nice to have a little treat that we made ourselves.

Taking the pups hiking this past Saturday. It was fun to let them go run and swim and ramble all over the State Park. They both came home and were nice and exhausted for a couple of hours.

Intentions:

Get back to the gym this week. Last week was crazy for it, but the time for excuses has past. I’m aiming for a good week of both eating and working out.

Find a place to have our welcome dinner. It really can’t be that hard, right?

What’s on tap for you this week?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

