Friday Five v.5

Oh man it’s been such a week. Last week was rough at work due to being short coworkers every day of the week straight up to working our call center with only two people on both Thursday and Friday. Yesterday, my coworker had to leave early because of  still not feeling well so I was alone for the last hour and a half of the day. It may not sound like much, but it’s pretty brutal. On the other hand, I received another “drop in my bucket” which is a note from a coworker saying they appreciate the work I do. It’s a nice tangible addition to my performance journal which is what they review for my yearly evaluations. The best part of the week though? Getting the call that my ring was ready.

my gorgeous anniversary/weddinged gift

my gorgeous anniversary/weddinged gift

(one) Over Independence Day weekend, Brian and I bought each other weddinged/anniversary gifts. He got an awesome new gun and I got a new engagement ring. I fully intend on taking this new gun to the wedding just so we can do the traditional ring shot on it. My stone came in the Monday after the family wedding in Maine. I drove out before work to get it, excitedly tore into the box, slid it onto my finger and was underwhelmed. My rings didn’t sit nicely with it, the setting blocked the view of over half the stone, and my stomach caught at the idea that I was betraying my original ring and that I didn’t like this one. After living with it for a week, I decided I wanted to get it reset. On Saturday we dropped it off at the jeweler and yesterday, I got it back. You will never convince me that there is anything more stunning than a well set solitaire stone. I just can’t stop staring at my hand. Which is a fun newlywed habit to be back into right before getting weddinged.

(two) My freezer is currently hosting the freezer bowl for my ice cream maker and my fridge has the chilling ice cream mixture in it. I asked for the ice cream maker for Christmas and this weekend we’re finally making our first batch of ice cream. We’re making cookies and cream ice cream using oreos as the cookies and the French Vanilla base flavor. We almost scrambled our custard though as I didn’t trust my instinct and B wasn’t convinced he had witnessed enough bubbles or steam. Luckily we pulled it just in the nick of time and we have a wonderful mixture waiting to get turned into ice cream.

(three) I ordered twelve bottles of wine from NakedWines.com last week. I received a voucher for them from shutterfly and figured that it wouldn’t hurt to give them a whirl. So far I’ve tried two of the wines – a moscato and a pinot noir – and I’m super pleased. The wines are crowdfunded and thus from small wineries and I really like the concept. I’m not sure I have it in me to drink enough wine to be one of their “Angels” yet, but if ever I pledge 40 dollars a month to something, it would be to helping someone make their dream wine.

(four) We’re back in that waiting to find out where we move next stage. It feels like not much has changed from last summer. We don’t know where we’ll be living six months from now. We aren’t overly enchanted with our jobs. We have friends that we like, otherwise we’re not overly fond of where we’re living. It’s honestly not an easy place to be. I’m tired of moving. I’m tired of the uncertainty. I really hope that we can actually make this next move stick for three to five years.

(five) Three weeks from now we’ll be with some of our closest friends and family for the weekend. I’m incredibly touched that they’ll be joining us to celebrate our marriage, especially on our fourth anniversary. We have almost everything planned out and I’m ready to just be there and enjoy the time with them all. I’m doing my best to soak up every second of this whole experience – I’ve been planning this day for over four and a half years.

Happy Weekend!

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Five v.5

  1. Meg says:

    It’s gorgeous! I agree, I love a solitaire ring!

Leave a Reply

