Weekly Wishes

After much debate in my head, countless hours of scouring the internet, and a frustrating early afternoon at the mall, I came home to have a drink. I was looking for the perfect rehearsal outfit. The one that said “beachy casual” and would mesh with cropped pants and maxi dresses alike. The one that could be worn all day (rehearsal at 1000, lunch to follow, welcome dinner much later in the afternoon). The one that captured everything about me…

Oh wait.

It’s just an outfit for a day? Fine then, I wanted it to be cute, summery, casual but still fun and special. Sue me. I wanted something, most importantly though, that I could wear again since that won’t be happening with the wedding dress.

One drink, an instant realization and ten minutes at the mall later and I’m now in possession of said outfit. White lace shorts, teal peplum top, and I can take on the world. Or at the very least, tackle this next work week.

my planned outfit

my planned outfit

Reflections – Lows:

One of my coworkers had emergency surgery this week. On top of worrying about her, we were also left short a person in our call center. It was stressful and the irritating part was my boss only stopping by to see if I had taken a short lunch the first day because, “we  can’t be paying over time.” No wonder everyone keeps leaving my department with such concern as that.

Reflection – Highs:

We had a BBQ dinner with friends on Saturday night. It was a casual pot luck and the boys played lawn games while us girls chatted. The food was good, the company better, and it was just the best way to spend a Saturday evening.

Finding my rehearsal outfit. This wedding has been in the planning for over four years now. It is a struggle to not want every little thing to be perfect. I can’t control if my husband will get teary eyed at finally seeing me in a white dress at the end of an aisle (spoiler: probably not as he never cries) but I can control other things and it’s a fight to not freak out over it all. But finding this outfit, brings home that if I just relax, it will all fall into place the way it is meant to be.

Talking to the jeweler on Saturday and knowing that my wedding present will be fully ready by the end of this next week. My amazing B bought me a new engagement ring and we’re getting it reset in the classic Tiffany setting because that’s what my heart desires. While sitting in the office I told B the price they would have to offer for me to be willing to go with it and their quote was under that amount. Talk about a win. Plus they’ll purchase the original setting of the ring from me and take that amount off of their quote.

Intentions:

Eat better. I have a new plan for eating. That mostly involves eating less food more frequently. I love my morning smoothie but it leaves me starving by lunch and even if I manage to moderate myself at lunch, dinner is either a total glut fest or I get really bitchy or both. So, now the plan is a breakfast sandwich when I get up (homemade and low calorie), the smoothie mid morning at work, a smaller lunch, a midafternoon snack (if needed), and then a light dinner. The hope is that by starting the day off well that I won’t ever reach the hungry-snacky part of the day.

Work out as best I can this week. We have something planned for four of five nights this work week. I’m planning to skip Wednesday’s soft ball game to go to the gym, but otherwise I need to do the best I can about squeezing in a workout after a game or dinner event. I’m not going to beat myself up though if that slides through the cracks.

Enjoy the gorgeous weather. It’s finally summer(ish) here. Temps in the 80s, lots of sunshine, and always a decent breeze. I know it will be gone before I know it, so I want to just soak up as much of it as possible.

What’s on tap for you this week?

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

