Getting Weddinged: Random Thoughts a Month Out

  • Seating charts are stupid. I understand that they’re expected and thus necessary, but that doesn’t make them not stupid. And they’re definitely on my list of things I don’t want to do this week but need to turn in a rough idea by Friday. I think. At least I need to tell them how many tables and how many people at each table. I just wish that people could be grown ups and figure out where to sit.
  • There are so many details to work out. Music playlist for the prelude. Ceremony script. Timeline.  Rehearsal plans. Packing lists. So many tiny things that all need attention and that only seem to be impossible to ignore at night when I’m trying to sleep.
  • Rehearsal dresses are stupid. I do not need another white dress. Yet it seems like the thing to do is to have a cute white dress for the rehearsal. It just seems impossible to find a cute dress that can be worn again for something other than a wedding related function. I’m just not the type of girl who goes out in white, which probably means I will pass on this requirement.
  • How does it feel so far away? I mean, we’re a month out and all the little details are piling up, yet it seems to early to be taking care of things. Which I know is stupid and wrong. I should probably be working on them instead of procrastinating, but that doesn’t seem any fun at all.
  • Sweating for the wedding is stupid. I won’t pretend that I’m not watching what I eat. Part of it is the general knowledge that I’m happier about ten pounds lighter than I am now. Part of it is wanting to feel my best on our wedding day. Part is knowing we have a family beach trip right after the wedding and really wanting to feel slim and sexy for that. However, it pains me that the wedding industry sells us this idea that if we aren’t a ripped, busty size zero for our wedding day that we’ve somehow failed as women.
  • I hope I have the time and energy to execute everything that I want to do. I want to be laid back, relaxed and have a good time. But, at the same time I know that means getting everything done ahead of time. I guess that means it’s time to bring it.
About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Getting Weddinged and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Weddinged: Random Thoughts a Month Out

  1. At the rehearsals I’ve been to, none of the brides have worn white. I think you can wear whatever you want! This is true of the wedding, too, of course, but the white-dress-at-a-rehearsal tradition seems much less set in stone than the white-dress-at-a-wedding one.

    Good luck. :)

    • Thanks so much! I’m definitely wearing whatever I want and it definitely doesn’t include another white dress. Now to see if I can find something that I actually like.

Leave a Reply

