“Friday” Five v.4

Thanks to heading out of town tomorrow for B’s brother’s wedding, today is my Friday. While the work day seemed to crawl by as a result of the anticipation for this weekend, it was quite fun knowing that I didn’t have to be back after today. Several coworkers kept asking if it was Friday and I gleefully exclaimed each time that it was for me. I’m still not sure how I managed to leave work alive.

(one) We had shipping drama this week that just about broke me ala straw on the camel’s back style. I checked my email at the end of lunch yesterday to find that a package that wasn’t even due to ship for three weeks would be delivered on Thursday…the day we fly out. Several phone calls to FedEx and a long internet search to find the elusive pick up site and we can hopefully claim the package tomorrow before our flight. If not, we’ll be able to arrange with them to hold it until Monday when we’re back. I’ll admit that I’ll be a bit crushed if we can’t get it as I would like to have the contents of the package for this weekend.

(two) B had a softball game out on base tonight. I was sitting off by myself trying to watch the game around the irritating people drinking and blocking my view. The game was at least half over when I realized I recognized the guy on base next to B. His wife and I were softball buddies back in Incirlik. I immediately moved to the other side of the field and spent the rest of the game catching up with her. I’m actually looking forward to softball season now.

(three) Our last electric bill spiked way up. I’m sure it’s from the “summer heat” that we’re experiencing combined with us turning on the a/c as soon as we get home and keeping it pretty cold at night. We’ve resolved to do better and are currently using open windows and fans during the evening and incrementally warming up the nighttime temp. We’ll see how it goes.

(four) I’ve had a few revelations about food, working out, and weight loss this week. Mostly that if I keep telling myself that I’m not trying to lose weight that I won’t. And that if I want to lose this weight I need to follow through and eating better/less and working out more consistently. Mostly it revolved around the lie I’ve been telling that I’m not trying to lose weight. I am. I want to lose 15 or so pounds and I want to own that decision and not apologize for it. Actually, this whole revelation regarding owning my decisions and treating my desires as legitimate probably deserves it’s own post.

five I evidently can’t count and originally posted this with only four bullets. Or maybe I’m just so boring that I couldn’t come up with anything else to say? Ah well…

I hope everyone else has a great week!

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

