Weekly Wishes

china

using it like i promised

I would say that we need three day weekends more often, because of how much I enjoyed this one; but, I’m not sure our bank account could handle that. We went a little spend happy this past weekend with both of us buying the other a “weddinged” gift. I’ll post more about mine, once it comes in as it has yet to ship. B received a new gun along with a red dot sight for it that we spent this morning sighting in.

Our weekend involved two mornings of shooting, plenty of chips and salsa, several long walks or runs with the puppies, and a fun shopping trip. I would wish that we didn’t have to go back to work, but we only have three days to work before we take off for Maine, so I can’t complain too much.

My other foray this weekend was into false eyelashes. I have the world’s stumpiest lashes – seriously, it’s embarrassing – and I probably should have looked into falsies earlier. I just always thought they would be super difficult to apply and/or uncomfortable. As it turns out, they’re not too difficult and not overly noticeable. I’ll be playing around with cheap ones throughout July (to include the wedding next Saturday) and see how I feel about them before our celebration.

Reflections – Lows:

Feeling sick all afternoon yesterday. I think it was a combo of too much salty snacks/alcohol the night before topped off with fried jalapeno bites at lunch. It was unpleasant.

Reflections – Highs:

Finally coming clean to B about how I felt about something and realizing that he was perfectly fine with fixing the issue. And then fixing it. More on this later.

Getting B his new gun and then taking it shooting. Nothing brings me more joy or happiness than seeing him excited. He looked like a kid in a candy store while collecting the ammo and accessories yesterday. And the smile on his face after he got it zeroed in was even better.

Keeping fairly active via running/walking the puppies and getting to the gym. Our food choices may have been lacking, but at least we kept active.

Intentions:

It’s a short week, which means that every work out and each meal are super important. Especially with the BIL’s wedding this Saturday. I need to work out at least three times before the trip plus take and actually use workout gear while we’re there. Each session really needs to count as well, so no more skimping on cardio because I want to go home.

Food, oh food. I can do really well for about a week and then I start backsliding. And by backsliding I mean eating french fries with every meal. We’ll say that we have to go somewhere healthy if eating out and then talk ourselves into an “exception” and hit up Five Guys. I want to find a better balance, because I seem to have an all or nothing mentality that isn’t working for me. Rather than pledging to not eat out at all or not eat fried food at all, I want to start working on actual balance. Where a splurge meal doesn’t result in a complete surrender on eating well at all.

Enjoy our trip. I just want to go celebrate my BIL and his gorgeous bride. I can’t wait to get to officially call her sister (I was the only one who said from the moment I met her that I figured she would stick around, which is mostly because she didn’t run screaming from that initial meeting) and enjoy their marriage celebration.

What’s on tap for you this week?

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

