Weekly Wishes

I’m not sure how I’m getting blessed with such amazing weekends, but the last couple of weeks have been wonderful. The combination of working during the week and then having these perfect mix of lazy and active weekends are hitting the spot perfectly.

Friday night got off to a rough start, I came home hungry and tired and we started bickering on our way to pick up food. I asked if we could just reset and we both dropped the subject and ended up having a fabulous night. Saturday involved me ordering pencil skirts from a Sister Missionary site (seriously, Mormon girls rock the cutest clothes) and having an early dinner with our restaurant buddies. I’ll admit that I was pretty bummed about spending Saturday night at home especially since we weren’t even drinking after having imbibed more than enough on Friday night. And then someone posted on facebook that the Aurora Borealis was active. We jumped in the car at midnight, drove north until we got to a remote exit, took a right and drove until it was pitch black. Then we got out of the car and stared in awe at the sky. We only caught the tail end of the storm, but I’m already addicted and signing up for alerts so we can go back and try again. Today was sleeping in, finding another good sushi restaurant at lunch, and taking the puppies to the dog park.

Reflections – Lows:

Finding out I might have to wait until June to learn the second half of my job. I’m really going to push for this not to happen, but it will definitely be a bummer if I’m hindered until then.

Walking past the pet store a thousand times this week and not being able to bring home a puppy. First they had Great Pyrenees-Golden Retriever mixes that were beyond adorable, then they got in some Miniature American Eskimo puppies that are little white fluff balls. Ugh, I want a puppy. I wonder if this is what it feels like to already have children and want another baby. Alas, now is not a good time to add a dog to the mix and two dogs really is enough for us.

Reflections – Highs:

Letting go of a toxic friendship. The friendship withered last summer and then lingered until we left our last base. We were still friends on Facebook until Friday night when I cut myself free of the pain of seeing their name in my newsfeed. I won’t ever know exactly what happens, but closure is a myth and claiming freedom for myself was a huge step forward.

Dinner on Saturday. We met up with our restaurant buddies to try a place called The Toasted Frog. It had a huge wine list, some beer on tap, and a bunch of martinis – not that we tried any of those as they don’t drink in public and we’d had enough to drink the night before. But the food, oh the food. We split a Fried Cheesy Pickle appetizer that was divine. The perfect mix of creamy cheese with a crunchy eggroll wrapper around a dill pickle spear. Yum. I ordered the Crabby Patty, which was a mixed seafood patty on a sandwich served with a white caper aioli (fancy tartar sauce) and sweet potato fries with a chipotle ailoi. It was so good. B had the walleye fish and chips plate and we split the entrees. Mine was better and we think we’re done trying walleye as it really is a fairly bland fish. For dessert we ordered the Pear Pie which was this caramel pear mixture on a thin pizza crust topped with icecream. It was as messy as it was delicious. In all, it was an amazing meal out that cost way less than what you would expect for how delicious it was. I do love small towns.

Seeing the Aurora Borealis. I’m riding an emotional high from this still. I’m addicted and am bookmarking pages and contemplating joining a subscription alert service to have the best chance of seeing it even stronger next time. I have a feeling that I will be doing my best to see this again for the rest of my life.

Intentions:

Only eat out four times during the week. We’re still working on figuring out exactly how to work this new life schedule of ours. We’ve yet to stick to a weekly budget since moving and no matter how we try to play it we keep eating out more than we should. Thus, we’ve decided to restructure a bit. We’re giving ourselves four meals to eat out during the week. We know we want one for Friday night, one for Saturday with our friends, and then one for Sunday lunch. This gives us one free one to toss around – if we use it on a week night, then it’s gone but if we don’t then we can eat out an extra time on the weekend. Here’s hoping we manage to stick to it.

Finish addressing our invitations. I’m currently knocking them out in groups of 3-5 at a time, so if I keep it up, I should be able to take one to the post office this week in order to get stamps and then get them mailed out. I can’t believe its time to be mailing these already.

Get back into going to the gym. My new schedule has been harder to adapt to than I had anticipated. Its way too easy for me to just come home and crash. There are no tricks here, I just need to dig in and get it done.

What’s on tap for you this week?

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Vanessa says:

    I like this bit: “…but closure is a myth and claiming freedom for myself was a huge step forward”. Sometimes letting people go is the healthiest step you can take for yourself. Good for you!

    • Thanks so much! It was a huge realization for me. There’s no closure in hearing why someone doesn’t want to be friends (or in a relationship) because there won’t ever be a reason that doesn’t raise more questions or hurt. But letting go? Enables me to move on and not live in the same cycle.

  2. Army Amy says:

    I have doggie fever right now, too! With Stephen gone it would be terrible timing. Even once he comes back, I think we are a one dog family. Still, I have so much love to give and there are so many needy doggies!

Leave a Reply

