A Perfect Saturday?

What makes a perfect Saturday for you? Does it need to be lazy and utterly void of things like pants or plans? Or do your Saturdays need their own day planner to make sure nothing gets missed in the eternal quest to do it all?

I’ve always fallen in the busier Saturday category. Shopping, eating out, going to a movie – I couldn’t pack my Saturdays full enough. I think I thought that Saturday had to contain enough fun to nullify the boredom of the preceding week. After one week of work, I feel really sorry for B and am incredibly grateful he put up with me insisting on always doing everything on the weekend.

This past week was interesting. It combined the highs of getting our stuff delivered and starting work with the chaos of unpacking and the low of hormones. I don’t know that I’ve ever experienced quite the same mixture of exhilaration and exhaustion. I shocked myself last night, when I told B that I would rather just chill at the apartment than try and go do anything.

I shocked myself this morning by not thinking that sleeping in somehow wasted today. I normally view sleeping in as a huge waste of a day off, because in my eternal quest to do ALL THE THINGS there is no time to sleep in. Maybe this won’t last, but after the chaos of this last week I relished being able to stay in bed after the sun got up.

While we were out for most of the day, it was in that quiet way where there’s not really a set schedule. We grabbed sushi at a place in town that delights me with the flavor, texture, and price of their sushi. I’m not sure what’s up with this town having all these amazing restaurants but I plan to take full advantage of it for as long as we are here. After lunch we hit a movie – it was terrible in a highly entertaining way – before the graduation we had to go to for the base colleges. The movie finished super early, so after checking out tents at Cabelas (anyone have any advice on good tents/camping equipment for beginners?) we decided to walk the downtown area.

Walking downtown involved crossing a river and state lines. It’s a small downtown area but we found a few other places we want to try as well as a chocolate shop with some really delicious chocolates. I think this was my favorite portion of today. There’s just something so luxurious about wandering a downtown area on foot. I can’t wait to go back and explore some of the shops since we didn’t go into any besides the chocolate shop.

The rest of the day consisted of errands and then chilling at home. Normally the chilling at home part is where I have issues. We can be out all day and as soon as we come home, I get mopey. Today we came home, ordered pizza, walked the dogs, and settled in to chill out for the night. And I find myself content. Better than content, I’m happy.

I’m happy to be sitting on the couch and not the floor. I’m happy that we can both finally chill out in the same room. I’m happy to not be exhausted anymore. I’m happy to have had a good day with my husband, one not marred by tears or mopeyness, or any real glitches. I’m happy because I’m so happy.

I know I still like being out and about on Saturdays, I’ll probably always be that way. But I like knowing that my Saturday can move at a less frenetic pace and still be good. I hope it means that I’m capable of learning to just be in the moment and enjoy what I’m doing.

What makes a perfect Saturday for you?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Perfect Saturday?

  1. Army Amy says:

    For me, a perfect weekend has a blend of busy and not so busy. I want to sleep in but not sleep the day away. I want to go out and do things but not be exhausted at the end of the day. I want to lay on the couch but not for forever. Haha! It’s tricky to find the just right amount of stuff to do. I guess I’m high maintenance in that way. Glad y’all had a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

