Weekly Wishes

I really want to get back into the habit of blogging regularly. I miss sharing and reading and commenting. I’ve let a lot of things slide while we’ve been mired in the endless-seeming process of moving, but it’s time to halt the slide and get back in gear.

If I were to confess something and be totally honest, I’m scared shitless of going to work tomorrow. I have never worked a standard 8-5 job. Except for three hellish months in a daycare. I’m also a bit nervous about coming home to the chaos of unpacking. Still, I know I will survive. As far as timing goes, at least I can be grateful that I finished my class before either of these events unfolded, much less both at once.

Reflections – Lows

Having a mini-panic-attack when B fired the .308 right next to me before I put my hearing protection on. I wasn’t even expecting him to fire because I was so caught up in playing with the new spotting scope. There was a huge roar then a all-consuming ringing and the next thing I know I have my head between my knees as I’m sobbing. I was able to recover and was crazy thankful that I hadn’t thrown a ton of eye makeup on as what I did have was all down my face.

It’s been an emotional/hormonal week for me. And I hate that. Ever since I switched up my birth control, these types of weeks have been few and far between. But this one felt like a doozy. I’m ready for it to go away and not show its head for a couple of months.

Reflections – Highs

Getting to go shoot our guns. We woke up early on Saturday and instead of going back to bed, we loaded the car and went to the gun range. We figured it would be packed as this was the first Saturday in the year that was warm enough, not too windy, and gorgeously sunny; but, to our immense delight we had the place to ourselves for the two and a half glorious hours we were there. We played with the new shotgun and laughed at both sucking so much. We sighted in B’s new scope for his oldest gun. We played with the new handgun we bought back in early March and then we shot our favorite little .22. There is something incredibly therapeutic about shooting for me.

Having an amazing weekend. I feel like we’ve been in a rut for weekends. Not having any stuff and having been trapped by the cold weather means we’ve spent a lot of long hours inside, doing nothing. But this weekend, even without the stuff, has been so much fun. Shooting, walking around, getting chores done, walking the dogs, going for runs, and even cooking on Saturday night. It was just the perfect weekend to kick off the start of working and getting our stuff back.

Intentions:

Survive this first week of work and unpacking. It may seem like I’m setting the bar low, but I know the chaos that is about to descend on us. In past moves, it’s taken me a solid week of straight unpacking to get things in order and we don’t have that luxury this time around.

Eat as best we can and work out when we can. Due to the above chaos, I know we need to go easy on ourselves. But we also need to get better about both of the above. The working out has been going pretty well, but our eating is still all over the place. I don’t mind so much on the financial side, but I’m tired of not seeing results from working out because of what I’m eating.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Meg says:

    Surviving and unpacking sounds like plenty! I’ve learned to keep things manageable and add to it when I can instead of trying for way too much and not accomplishing much because it’s too overwhelming to start! I’m also trying to reinstate good eating and working out habits as I settle into the new normal of a new schedule!

    • I’m definitely learning to ignore the mentality of pushing until I drop. I know it’s what we’re sold in media; but, for this week, adjusting is enough.

      Congrats on your new job and I wish you luck in finding a good new routine with it! Once I survive I’ll have to start working on my routine again myself.

  2. Army Amy says:

    I hope work goes well! Getting into the swing of anything different takes a little bit of time, so don’t be too hard on yourself if you come home dragging every day this week. Best of luck with unpacking, too. It sucks, but once you have everything where you want it, you’ll be so much happier!

    • Thanks so much! It’s been fun, but I am surprised at how tired I am. Or not, really. Between a 7 hour training day my first day and then 7 more hours of unpacking that night, I’ve been working way harder than anything else recently. But, my kitchen is unpacked as are my clothes and it feels so wonderful to know I can cook again!

Leave a Reply

