Working Woman

It’s been a long time coming.

Moving with B and trying to work has been an experience. Way back in 2010, when we had been dating for a mere three months, he asked me to not resign my work contracts so that I could move to ND to be with him that summer. I agreed and quit two amazing jobs that fit me to a tee. Once up in ND, I realized that things were going to be tough but after about three weeks of running around the mall, I landed an assistant manager gig at a retail store. Only to find out the very next day that we were moving to Germany.

Thus started the pattern of finding jobs only to leave them before I was ready. In Germany I decided immediately to teach piano. It was what I knew and I was darned good at it. I charged in Euro which meant that while our friends were belly-aching about the exchange rate, we never had to think about that. In Turkey, I wanted to work more hours but ended up hating my job and returned to piano teaching. When we learned we were coming back to ND, I knew something had to give.

One thing I did figure out from teaching from home in Turkey is that I need to have a job outside of our home. Lots of people are cut out to work from home, but I am not one of them. I crave human interaction and being out and about, which was definitely limited when I worked from home.

I actually began the job application process back last November. I started rewriting my resume. I signed up for a paralegal certificate course because I thought it would be challenging, interesting, and would serve me wherever we lived. Even in small town ND, there were 2-3 jobs constantly listed online.

Until we moved here. I’ve lost count of the number of resumes I’ve submitted. I do know I’ve worked with three different versions of it. Everything lead to dead ends.

When I went to the job fair, I didn’t get my hopes up. I figured (correctly) that it would be aimed at military members transitioning out. Lots of openings for welders, mechanics, and truck drivers but less so for a spouse looking for administrative experience. I wanted to at least be in an administrative position so that I could build some experience that would be relevant to a paralegal career later down the line.

The only place that caught my eye was the local hospital. I had submitted an application through their website but never heard back from them. They told me to change job types and apply again. I rewrote my resume for the fourth time. Less than a week later I had an interview.

The day before we flew to California to pick up our car I went in to interview. The experience was great. They kept telling me they loved my answers and illustrations. I felt good. They told me that I would hear from them by Monday at the latest. The next day, when we landed at LAX, I had a missed call from them. In baggage claim, I jumped up and down like a fool as they told me they were offering me a job. Next week I finally start working full-time.

I’ll be a patient access representative for the radiology department. I get to work Monday through Friday from 8-5. It’s entry level, which stings with a master’s degree and five years in the work force behind me. But, it’s a job and it will be experience to build my resume. I’m excited to have coworkers and a purpose.

If only the next move wasn’t already on the horizon.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working Woman

  1. Stereo says:

    And you’ll be brilliant? You know this, yes?

  2. Army Amy says:

    Yeay! The job search sucks so I’m glad to hear that you’ve found something that will hopefully be a good fit. If nothing else, those are pretty good hours to keep. I always thought I’d like working at home since I tend to be self-motivated and I’m an introvert, but I underestimated how lonely it would be. So even though I have a job I like and I’m working on freelance stuff, I’m going to be looking for a summer job. It’s a hit to my pride to imagine myself working as an entry-level grunt at this point in my life, but I’m not one to say no to money, you know?

    The next move is already on the horizon? Meaning you know about it but you’ve got a year or two or meaning it’s closing in fast?

    • I hear you about working entry level at this stage of life. I’m trying to remind myself I’m grateful for the opportunity to change careers and, frankly in this job market, to be working at all.

      We are prepared for it to close in fast. We are not expecting to survive the RIF boards and have some stuff in the works for after. We’re expecting to be gone by the end of the calendar year, though you never know how life will work out.

Leave a Reply

