Empty

It’s amazing how quickly one adapts to one’s surroundings. When we first moved in to this apartment, I gaped at the emptiness. Big empty rooms, echo-y sounds, and the slightly alien feel of a new home. We’re closing in on two months here and it finally feels less empty and more like home.

Which is ironic.

Because we still don’t have any of our belongings. The internet guy came by the other day because of some issue that I still don’t understand. B had left the kitchen cabinets that our clothes are in open and the guy cracked a joke about having clothes in the kitchen cabinets. I looked at him, looked behind me to the two camping chairs in the living room, and just laughed. I pointed those out and told him we were making do.

Which we are.

I think I might actually miss some of the simplicity of living like this. There’s no debate over what to do in the evenings because we either watch something together on netflix or we play separately on our laptops. There is nothing else to do. I won’t miss not having a bed though, this floor pallet has been killer, especially with all the working out we’ve been doing. It’s been oddly fun to be camping in our apartment for the last two months.

Which is strange.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s beyond old that we don’t have our belongings. I cry about it at least once every three or four days. I’m completely over every deadline passing and the company pretty much saying oops it’s still not there regarding our belongings. Today is the last day for it to get to town in time to be delivered before I start work.

Which is frustrating.

But until it does come in, I think I’ll embrace the last few days of emptiness. There’s something about it that just draws me in.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empty

  1. Army Amy says:

    There is something to be said for the simplicity of having less. I remember laying on my stomach on the floor using our laptop and listening to music because we had a house full of nothing. I kind of liked it. Other than the fact that it was uncomfortable and I was sick of wearing the same outfits over and over. (Of course, I’m in the middle of a huge house-wide de-cluttering extravaganza, so I’m probably a little biased right now!)

    I hope your stuff arrives soon and as stress-free as possible. Yay for working! What are you going to be doing?

    • The uncomfortable part is starting to wear me down. Especially when I have to sit down on the floor after legs day. Haha.

      I’m going to be a patient access rep at a local hospital for their radiology department! I’m really excited to have a job again!

Leave a Reply

