Weekly Wishes

Who knew that you could go from freezing to derisive in sixteen degrees? North Dakota has brought on a whole new meaning to the word cold. I’ve always been the person to say that I’d rather be hot than cold because you can always put more on but there’s only so much you can take off. It turns out that there’s only so much you can put on and you’ll still be cold. We woke up this weekend to -40 and below windchill. And both of us mentioned several times that it wasn’t that cold in the sun and the wind blocked. You know, when the actual temperature was below -15. So when the weather told me that tomorrow’s high is 8 and that it will be “bitterly cold” I actually laughed. That’s not cold silly weather website, it’s 16 whole degrees warmer than today’s high.

Reflections – Lows:

Being cooped up in this hotel room all week. Between the cold, which has limited how often I’m willing to go outside and B actually having work to do this week, I spent most of it hanging out here. It was fun for the first morning and then I got bored.

Crying too much again. I hate the part of moving that involves me having nothing to do. Which makes me highly emotional. Which makes me cry at all sorts of things. I had multiple break downs this week. The most spectacular involving hitting myself in the eye with the knob from the dryer in the laundry room. Yeah, it was one of those nights.

Seeing our apartment and realizing it was smaller than I thought it would be. Significantly smaller to the point that I’m not sure how we’ll fit everything in. Also learning that our belongings that were supposed to be delivered in two days are still sitting in customs and are therefore a couple of weeks away from arriving. Major bummer.

Reflections – Highs:

Seeing our apartment and realizing that I love it, even if it is small. Our kitchen is quite stunning and I like the lay out even if I wish it were bigger. After all this transition, I’m just happy to have a place to call home again. Also, I unpacked my new pots and pans and I just love them so much.

I applied to six or seven jobs this week. Yes, I’ve lost count. I’m really hoping I hear back from someone soon. I’m pretty sure I’m most qualified for the job that I least want, but I won’t say no to a paycheck while we’re here.

I ran two consecutive miles with both of them below a 10 minute mile. I walked 2/10ths of a mile in between them. I’m pretty proud of this feat and it’s definitely reignited my passion for getting to the gym.

Intentions:

Keep applying to jobs. I need to not let fatigue set in and keep going with the applications. I also need to follow up with places where I emailed in my resume to see if they even received it. This is my least favorite stage of job hunting, so I know I need to focus on pushing through.

Get to the gym every day this next week. I need to redetermine my weight lifting routine and make sure that I’m getting intense enough cardio. Especially with all of the negatives (cooped up in the hotel, the cold, B working long hours already) I need all the extra help I can get from endorphins.

Eat at the hotel now that we bought groceries. I think we ate out at least once every day since arriving. Part of it was being around real restaurants again, part all the running around we needed to do in order to set things up, and part of it was not having groceries. However we solved that today. We have more than enough groceries for the week and now we just need to eat at home.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    Good luck with the job hunt! That part of moving is the worst. Sending out resumes and filling out applications with no clue as to whether you’ll hear from those people or if they’ll even read what you sent them. But then out of the blue, something will come along! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

