Weekly Wishes

SAM_1333

taken on our first trip into adana

We are down to counting hours now. I can’t tell you exactly how many, because that wouldn’t be safe; but there it is, we’re counting hours. Not months, not weeks, not days. Hours. My mind can’t fully comprehend it.

This week has been a curious mix of highs and lows, typically rapidly tumbling upon the heels of one another. I suppose that’s often how life goes, but certainly when you’re in the process of closing doors so that you can open new ones.

Reflections – Lows:

I miss having friends here. The kind of friends where you just sit in a quiet house and talk, laugh, and drink the night away. B’s going away for our squadron was Saturday night and it was just kind of awkward. Then, after, we were walking home when we were picked up by some of the other CGOs in his squadron. They dropped us at their hotel and then went to hang out with each other and without us. We’ve been there to say goodbye to so many people and it’s hard that none of them were here to say goodbye to us.

Reflections – Highs:

Turning over our keys to our house. We have no more responsibilities here and it feels amazing. The two hours cleaning it weren’t so great, but the feeling of knowing that it was no longer ours? That was totally worth the blood, sweat, and tears.

Doing all of the “lasts” around here. Last trip to the commissary. Last trip to the squadron building. Last trip downtown to get food (this one is a tie for being a low as we love the food at this place). Each one helps set us a step closer to being on a plane.

The “going away” that we quietly organized with the people that we do like. Which meant it was us and the legal team for the base. We had a good night. Hence, I know that I do still have some good friends here, they just can’t hang with us every night.

Intentions:

Finish this weeks homework before Wednesday. It’s ambitious, but the second half of this week is going to be insane. And the week after that will be pretty crazy so I need as much done ahead of time as I can.

Get solid work outs in for the first few days of the week and eat as moderately as possible during our 30+ hours of transit time. I can feel my leg muscles now and I have just started realizing that I can see some muscle outline even when my arms aren’t flexed. I don’t want to lose that now.

Not lose my sanity while traveling. I’m not the worlds greatest traveler, and I’d rather not have tears and arguments because I’m stressed. I’m trying to internalize the knowledge that it will all work out.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    Wow! Go Time! Which, in my experience, also means crazy time. Haha! I hope that isn’t the case for y’all and that it’s smooth sailing!

    • I cannot believe that it’s go time! And it is somewhat crazy, I know the actual travel days will probably be pretty insane, I’m just hoping to limit the crazy to those days.

  2. My heart is bursting with excitement.

  3. My goals this week:

    1. Not leave my schoolwork until the last possible moment. I’m still crazy OCD about getting A’s so I always have enough time to turn in good work, but I’m exhausted when I pull days where I do 13 straight hours of studying, test taking, and essay writing. Grrr.

    2. Keep up with my exercise, healthy eating, and add the stretching that I’ve been meaning to ass since December.

    3. Sit down and budget out my trip for a certain someone’s wedding. ;-)

    4. Do my laundry. I have so many clothes and hate doing laundry so passionately that I let it pile up and then have a marathon laundry day. It is time.

    5. Talk to you by the end of the week and make sure the four of you made it safely!

Leave a Reply

