Weekly Wishes

Walking to the base club on Friday night, heading there for the free appetizers and win a prize night that they host every Friday, I asked B if we wanted to pay cash or open a tab. Normally we just pay cash, the drinks are super cheap but rarely does anyone spend much time there so it’s just not worth opening a tab. We decided that we would open one though, because we had no plans to get drunk. We ordered our first drinks and were the only ones in the “O” side of the club. Then a friend walked in and bought a round, her husband showed up and we bought another round, and so it continued. Saturday morning we finally figured out that we ordered a total of eight rounds between us before adjourning to their house for a movie and more drinks. The best laid plans of mice and men…and the detour totally saved our weekend.

Reflections – Lows:

I really struggled mentally with being at the gym this week. I’m not sure what was up but Wednesday was a fight, Thursday didn’t happen, and the whole weekend was full of short work outs and cop outs. I think part of it was fatigue and part of it was just hormones and life.

Reflections – Highs:

Finding out that I made 100% on both of my first sets of assignments. While it isn’t really a surprise, it was still nice to have the validation that I’m doing the right thing. This being back in school thing is odd but nice.

Friday night. It was the perfect mix of just chilling with one other couple while out of our house and getting buzzed. The sequel was Saturday night, where we went and played Scrabble against another couple. The highlight of that night was getting called out for using the word “supped” and then having the other person look it up only to find that it was a real word. Both nights made this dreary, rainy weekend a much better time.

Figuring out that I can start dinner even if B isn’t home. I normally wait for him, because if he doesn’t show then dinner is just sitting. But twice this week I started it without him and it worked out perfectly. Even though the first of those attempts still resulted in us grabbing food out, we’re getting better. Or I’m getting better. I still really hope that his hours will vastly improve once we’re back Stateside.

Intentions:

Stay on top of my homework this week. I did a great job of it last week, but this week appears to ramp things up significantly. I will have a lot of alone time due to B’s work schedule this week, so I really want to stay on top of my work so that we can actually enjoy our weekend next week.

Find my missing gym groove. Two weeks ago was awesome and this last week was a struggle for every minute. I’d like to reclaim the prior feeling and maintain it this week. I think the key is in getting up and going in the morning, so I’m trying that. There’s a new spouse a few houses down who will be joining me, so hopefully that will be the kick in the butt I need to get up and moving.

Savor this next week. I’m down to less than twenty days on this base and there are people I will miss. I need to be better at taking them up on their offers for rides and errand running because that’s their way of showing that they care.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

