Coping Mechanisms

Each night, after we’ve finished all our work for the day; once the dishes are washed, the gym has been visited, and homework has been completed, our dogs go crazy. They run about and jump into our faces, they grab their toys and throw them at us (true story, our German Shepherd doesn’t seem to know how to place things gently) and they jump all over each other. That’s when we leash them up, take them out to the park, and then off leash them to let them run. Out there, in the dark of the park, they release all the nervous energy that has built with all the changes happening. They come home and are able to settle down, curl up and sleep on the floor near us, and relax just for a little while.

It’s funny to see the coping mechanism in action in my dogs and to realize the corollary function for me. They need to be off leashed to run and I have to get to the gym.

This moving thing is stressful. Even when it’s going well, which it is, it’s stressful. Today we shipped off our car. It’s a huge step in leaving this country. They’re being awesome and shipping it to the port that we want, it made it on a truck to the coast today, and everything went perfectly. We also had to: reserve our hotel rooms for the stay before we leave, research car registration in Texas and North Dakota, find out Delta’s ticket change policy in case our flight is delayed, find out about changing B’s driver’s license, make a decision about an apartment before we have the chance to see it, and reorder cakes for our wedding since the place we’d picked went out of business.

After successfully navigating all of those, I sat on the couch this afternoon and cried when my adorable Germany Shepherd decided to come cuddle me and got slobber all over me. I cried when B asked me what I wanted for dinner.

And then we went to the gym. I hit the zen zone there, where I thought about nothing and just rocked out to every song that came on my ipod. I ran on the treadmill. I lifted weights. I dripped sweat on the stair master. I loosened up at the end on the stationary bike. As I walked home in the cool night air, I realized that all the tension from earlier was gone. My coping mechanism released the pressure and let it vent away.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

