Weekly Wishes: NYE Edition

prom shot from our squad party

prom shot from our squad party

It appears that 2013 is intent in passing on in the usual manner of years. It is going out with reflection on every single thing from the last year and promises that the next year will be bigger and better than ever. I can’t say that I’m any different than the rest of humanity, so I might get introspective over the next couple of days.

This last week had it’s tough moments, but it also managed to pull through and be a pretty decent week. I definitely struggled with the holiday aspect, but once we got past that it was smoother sailing. This weekend has been the single quietest weekend that I think B and I have ever enjoyed together and it was amazing. We made brunch both days, worked out, played video games, and just lounged around the house.

Reflections – Lows:

Struggling so much with the holiday. I cried more than I wanted to and was just generally down. But I’ve already covered that in another post, so I’m done even thinking about it.

Getting the wedding dress in and having it not be what I wanted or even felt I could work with. Especially when that was the only package we received this week and we’re still missing Christmas gifts that were mailed four weeks ago. Le sigh.

Reflections – Highs:

I had lunch with a friend on Friday. She’s probably the only true friend I’ve made here. We walk together pretty much every morning and go to lunch every now and then. It was just what I needed to shake off the last of my melancholia.

Working out every day except for Christmas. I’ve been putting in about 45 minutes of cardio plus lifting every day; I’m very much enjoying treating working out as my job and plan to keep it up. I feel better when I work out and I’m looking forward to seeing the changes in my body.

This past weekend with B. We woke up Saturday and decided to make brunch out of nowhere – eggs with sausage, biscuits and gravy. It was perfection. Then we decided we’d use the rest of the gravy on the leftover chicken fried steak and add hash browns and eggs for brunch this morning. We even went out and grabbed some orange juice and champagne to make our own mimosas. I’m normally the kind of person who wants to be out and about on weekends, so being able to enjoy one at home is huge.

Intentions:

Increase my cardio time and add an ab routine. I want to get up to doing an hour of cardio split in half before and after my lifting. I’ve found that I’m much less sore if I do some cardio after lifting; however, especially on leg days, it’s hard to get an intense workout after so I’ve been doing both. I just need to increase the time a little bit to meet this goal. The other involves throwing in an exercise dvd to help fill my afternoons and that will work on increasing my core strength. I’ve been seriously slacking in this area and am looking forward to rectifying the situation.

Keep up the transition to eating better. I’ve bought the darn veggies, now they just need to make it to my plate more. I’m starting to pay better attention again to serving sizes and I just need to fully commit to eating healthier. I don’t want to go back to logging calories, because I know that isn’t sustainable for me. Still, I want to be more intentional in what and how much I eat.

Spend time each day purging our house in preparation for our pack out that is now only one week away. We have a lot of extra stuff and I need to clean it out and get it organized. I have plenty of empty hours to fill and I’ll feel much better if everything is ready to go before next weekend.

Enjoy our NYE plans. We’re joining some friends for dinner at a pub in town. It’s an “Irish” place in Southern Turkey, so not very Irish, but the food is good at least. We’ll be home well before midnight, since I’m DDing and want a drink to ring in the New Year. I am not overly enthused about going out, but only because I hate driving off base so I’m not looking forward to doing that.

Do you have any plans for NYE?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Wishes: NYE Edition

  1. shirlld says:

    I nominated you for an award. Thanks for your great blog. http://noncitygirl.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/blog-awards/

Leave a Reply

