Weekly Wishes: Christmas Edition

our beloved shitty tree

our beloved shitty tree

I can’t believe that Christmas is in three days. We have all of six wrapped presents under our tree, plus all the dvds and video games from Black Friday. That at least keeps it from looking too barren. Last year, we went out of town the weekend before Christmas and I pretty much banned the boys from even mentioning the word so that we could have a good time and I wouldn’t feel melancholy about our first Christmas sans any family. This year we can’t get away and there are no good movies out so we’ve been struggling to fill up our time.

the stockings my mother hand knit for us

the stockings my mother hand knit for us

Reflections – Lows:

Not being home for the holidays. I’m taking it a lot harder this year, and my guess is that it’s because we don’t have any close friends here anymore. But I’m irrationally angry at B’s parents for traveling to visit his siblings and telling us that they aren’t sure they’ll have time to Skype us over the holiday. I’m frustrated with family members on both sides laying claim to having us in town for the holidays next year. I’m irritated with Turkey for not releasing any good movies this past weekend, which means we can’t even do that on Christmas day to fill in the time. Also, I’m just ready to be out of here and that definitely isn’t helping matters.

Reflections – Highs:

B and I had a rather heated disagreement on Thursday night. We went to bed on a shaky truce. The next morning, he had to get up for work and I stayed in bed. When he came in to tell me goodbye, I told him that I needed to be held. He didn’t even hesitate to come around the bed and climb in – uniform, boots, beret, and all – to hold me. When people say that sometimes it is the little things, it’s not a lie; this was nothing big at all, but it meant the world to me.

Sometime last week B wanted to watch a movie with me and I agreed to trying the pilot for American Horror Story: Murder House. After viewing, I told him I wasn’t sure I could keep up with that pace of intensity to watch the rest, but that I’d think on it. Well, Friday night we were baby sitting and since the munchkin was all of five months and asleep half an hour after I got there, we decided to watch more. We ended up staying up until two in the morning watching it and finished the season on Saturday evening. I’m sad that this story arc is over and insanely excited to collect the next couple of seasons after we move back to the US.

Intentions:

Keep hitting the gym. I made it four of seven days last week for an hour at a time, plus walking the dogs after. I just want to keep it up.

Eat at home more. We bought all these yummy groceries yesterday, made plans to eat at home, and then I just needed to get out of the house. I really have to grow up and get over that. I’m cooking dinner now (yay crockpots) and I have my plan for the week. Now to just stick with it.

Get this house ready to pack out. We are two weeks from shipping our belongings back to the US. As soon as Christmas is over, I’ve got to get everything cleaned out, organized, and ready to go. I’m never a fan of having to pack suitcases to live out of for three months, but I am excited by how close we are to getting to leave.

I hope you all have an awesome Christmas if that’s your holiday! If not, I hope you have an awesome week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Wishes: Christmas Edition

  1. Army Amy says:

    That time when the move is getting close but it’s still not here is tough. At least it usually is for us. But you’ll be back in the States in no time. Enjoy the last little bit of Turkey. Good on you for getting to the gym so many times. I’m trying to get motivated to get some exercise today, but it’s panning out to be a lazy Sunday.

    • This is the worst one we’ve endured, but it’s also the only one that’s been scheduled more than 45 days in advance. I think I’m just fatigued at this point – from living overseas, being away from family at the holidays, and getting things ready to leave. I’m more excited about our February leave/PCS than I am about the holidays.

      I’ve been soothing my emotions with working out. Psychologically it might not be much better than drinking or eating them away, but physically it’s a much better deal.

Leave a Reply

