Weekly Wishes

We’ve reached the point in the year where the weeks are flying by. This last one fit the bill perfectly. It seems like just yesterday was Sunday night and yet, here we are again. This upcoming week will be particularly bittersweet and I’m torn between wanting to savor it and just having it done already.

Reflections – Lows:

My cold continued to linger this week. Not to mention that the weather outside was ridiculously cold and windy (for here) which resulted in my friend and I not taking our morning walks. I never remember how much I need that hour of conversation and walking until we can’t do it several days in a row.

Reflections – Highs:

This one could easily be mixed, but Monday morning, after going back to bed because of my cold and no walk, I was awakened by a knock on the door. It was a Turk, who then walked through my chaotic house to tell me that my pack out dates were now reserved. Concrete dates are such a blessing right now. And in three weeks, we’ll be bidding our belongings adieu.

My students played in a Christmas recital on Saturday. The base had a Winter Festival and we were part of the entertainment. I ended up with 12 performers and they all did spectacularly, especially given the cold weather, wind, and a crappy keyboard/sound system.

Getting my Christmas box from my Mom. She always sends us ornaments for our tree, stocking stuffers, and a santa for my collection. This year she also sent us new stockings. New, hand knit, heirloom stockings. I cried.

Intentions:

Survive this week. It’s B’s last 5 day work week of the year, quite possibly of his time here. It’s also my final week of teaching. Which means that every day is going to be filled with saying goodbye to my students. My goal is to get through without losing my mind.

Work out. I’m going to need the endorphins to balance the hormones on the other end. Not to mention needing something to do. I’m intending to make our last 8 weeks here my healthiest, so that I go into our move with an advantage.

Quit drinking coke zero. This one is almost a cheat, because the store was out of them, again, but I think the time has come to bid soda goodbye. It makes me feel bloated, I can tell when I’m crashing after drinking one, and I know that it isn’t good for me. I’d like to just not touch the last one in the fridge and not buy any replacements.

Start deep cleaning the house. I know we’ll need to have the place spotless for when we move out, but I also will need everything sorted and organized before it gets packed up. I’d like to get started on that this week.

What do you hope to accomplish this week

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

