Hard

I’m having a rather difficult time right now. We’re in that stage of starting to say the “see you laters” and those are always hard for me. Most especially difficult, is saying goodbye to my students.

When we left Germany, particularly because we left so quickly, I didn’t have much time to say goodbye. This was compounded by originally being told we had only a month to move, before it ended up dragging out for three long months. I remember one Mom telling me that she had to tell her two girls separately and that both (8 and 16) sobbed when she told them I was leaving. Another Mom asked me to come out on a non-lesson day to tell her daughter goodbye. It was hard.

And now we’re leaving again. It’s still hard.

Parents are asking me if I have any recommendations for piano teachers. I don’t think there is currently anyone else who teaches on base.

We have our first, our only, recital on Saturday. They’re getting to play Christmas songs for the Winter Fest that is happening this weekend. We’ll be freezing our fingers off outside and I’ve never had my students this excited. It’s helped us all to have something to focus on besides me leaving.

And then I have one final week to say goodbye.

A student just left my house today and she told me, “We’re all going to miss you so much. All my friends take from you and you’re a great teacher and we just don’t know what we’re going to do.”

Sometimes this military life is just hard. I hate saying goodbye.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

