Weekly Wishes

What a week it has been. It may have to go down as the all time strangest week that I’ve lived through. Hopefully it stays that way and life doesn’t try to top itself any time soon. Today though, kicks off a new week and the last month of 2013. To say I’m excited to embrace 2014, would be an understatement of gross proportions.

Reflections – Lows:

B’s work. There’s a lot I can’t say about this, but he had to work a lot of extra hours this week due to a major disruption in the squadron and one person’s lack of intelligence. It made for an extra long week.

My hormones. Changing birth control will hopefully prove to have been a good decision, but this past week with all the cramps and the double dose of hormones from taking my pills as a back up until the IUD kicks in has been a bit of a nightmare. The extenuating circumstances from above didn’t help, but still, I’m really hoping for some balance soon.

Reflections – Highs:

Having the four day holiday weekend with B. We really didn’t do much, a quiet dinner with acquaintances and skyping with family, but it was just nice to be off. We spent way too much time sending each other funny pictures while shopping online. I think we’re set for the year on video games, movies, and tv series to watch.

Getting the rugs up and sent out for cleaning and getting the Christmas tree up. I almost didn’t put the tree up this year. It’s a 220v tree and will be staying behind when we move, so I thought about selling it prior to Christmas in order to make a little money on it. But that would have left us tree-less for this Christmas season. In the end, I decided that my mental health of having the glow of the tree was worth more than the 20 bucks I would get for selling it used. It was a good decision, even if the dogs have already broken one ornament.

Intentions:

I’m going to stick to my No Excuses December plan for this week to run 20 minutes daily and incorporate a salad into one meal a day. I even went for a run today, in spite of my sore throat and congestion. It was worth it. It’s the first time I’ve ever managed to get into a zone while running and it felt good. Also, it marks the first time I’ve successfully run 20 minutes in back to back runs.

Cut soda back out of my diet. After giving it up for Lent last year, I was really only drinking it when having it with alcohol. Then, somewhere along the line, I fell back into drinking multiple diet sodas a day. It’s a terrible cycle and one I want to break again. It’s one thing to use it as a no-calorie mixer with my alcohol, but I want to get away from using it to get through the day.

Make time for the things I enjoy and want to do. One thing I learned from blogging daily is that I make time for the things I want to do. Especially with the move looming, I need to get back into doing things for me. I only have 3 weeks of teaching left and I’d like to have some set habits to spend my time on once my days are fully free again.

What do you want to accomplish this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

