Twenty-Nine: The Day After

Oh the day after Thanksgiving. Full of tryptophan and blessings, Americans take to the street to show their worst sides to each other and the world. Residual feelings of guilt come flooding in as most kick off the holiday season by overeating and racking up credit card bills. It’s an intricate dance from one party to the next, indulging is the reason for the season, or so it seems.

The cycle begins with Thanksgiving and ends with New Years Resolutions at the gym. We gather with friends and family, over eat, feel guilty, shop off the guilt, feel more guilty, and eat away the pain. Wash, rinse, repeat. Welcome to the holiday season in modern America.

I have no problem with consumerism. I have no qualms with Black Friday. I quite like getting deals myself, even if I choose to do my purchasing online. We actually save up year round, just to be able to splurge on this day.

I have no problem with indulging either. Food, drinks, and time with family/friends bring the light to the darkest time of year. But, everything in moderation, seems to have fallen by the wayside in modern culture.

It’s the instant gratification with delayed payment aspect of both that concerns me. It’s piling on the purchases on a credit card that won’t get paid off for months. It’s the piling on of pounds with no intention to work them off until 2 January, only to find the gym overcrowded and give up before you even start.

This December, I’m committing to not racking up health debt to be paid at a later date. I’m committing to eating healthier food and working out daily to combat the holiday pounds. For the first week of December, my goal is to run for 20 minutes a day and eat one salad a day. An easy way to start sneaking in more exercise and veggies. Each week I’m hoping to increase what I’m doing.

My aim is to make this my healthiest December ever – not by starving myself, not by denying myself treats, but by making the better choice each time it’s offered. Here’s to paying my debts and not letting them accrue any interest.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

