Twenty-five

I’ve been somewhat terrified of this day for the last two and a half weeks, give or take a few days. Ever since I made a decision to switch to an IUD for birth control. Here is your warning now, to leave if you don’t want to think about me using this. But I consider it odd, and maybe even wrong, that birth control is treated as so private it’s almost shameful. I feel that we should be able to discuss it much like vitamins, if we so choose. Or we should be able to not discuss it if we don’t want it talked about. But no one should be shamed for thinking about, taking, or talking about birth control.

The decision for an IUD for me, comes from several places. We still can’t say for sure that we do or don’t want kids. We’re more on the no than the yes, but we don’t want to permanently close any doors this early. But we certainly don’t want kids in the next 2-3 years. So I wanted something that would last and not be a pain to deal with.

The pain to deal with aspect removed condoms, pills, the Nuva Ring, shots, and patches. I don’t want to have to take something, go in for something, etc. I came off of the Implanon implant in April, and while it worked for me, I like that an IUD is even more localized and good for a longer period of time.

But there’s the whole placement issue of the IUD. Once I picked it, I just wanted it done, but of course our clinic couldn’t schedule it that quickly, leaving me to dread it for this whole time. I was worried about the pain. I was worried they wouldn’t be able to place it. I was worried about fainting. I was worried about not being able to work in the afternoon.

In my head, it became this BIG SCARY ORDEAL.

I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t the most pleasant thing I’ve ever done. But it also wasn’t nearly as painful, uncomfortable, or scary as I expected. I had blown it completely out of proportion.

The afternoon has been filled with lots of caffeine, advil, and cuddling on the couch with a book. And all of that seems to be helping immensely. I do notice when the medication starts to wear off, but it’s happening right at the allowable time to take more.

Do you find birth control to be a taboo topic? Do you think it should be?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twenty-five

  1. Army Amy says:

    I’m glad to hear the IUD wasn’t too painful. It’s something I’m considering myself. I was on the pill and was perfectly happy with it. I’d hear people comment that taking a pill every day was too much of a hassle, but I never minded. (It’s just like taking a daily vitamin.) Then we PCSed.

    Every single time I went to the pharmacy to get a refill it was some issue. (It’s too soon to try to refill your birth control, because of the time difference the night shift has to do it, we lost your paperwork, what was your doctors name in Germany again.” After the 4th trip to the pharmacy in which they had done nothing, I threw my hands up.

    So now we are using a barrier method. It’s not the best, but if we were to get pregnant we’d be okay with it. Now that he’s so close to deploying, I just figured it wasn’t worth it to keep going back to the pharmacy or going to the doctor to get a new prescription.

    • It was mostly just painful in a different way. Like having really bad cramps as opposed to normal pain. If that even makes sense.

      I didn’t mind taking a pill, but I react very poorly to extra hormones, so I’m going with a very low, localized dose and hoping that will help.

  2. evalonne says:

    I dunno. It seems that once you have kids, the subject of what kind of birth control you’re using isn’t taboo among other people who have also had kids. For me, hormonal birth control (even the mini-pill, which I was on before trying for kids) just killed my sex drive and seemed to be counter-productive.

    We decided to go with condoms. Most of the other options just aren’t worth the price when we’re planning on having kids close together anyway (which also makes condom failure a little more “oh, looks like kid number 2 is on the way a little earlier than planned, no big deal”). Once we’re at 3 kids (unless number 3 decides to be number 3 & 4), we’ll go a permanent route, probably tube tying.

    • Maybe that is it. Or maybe I’m just hanging around the wrong people again. It seems to be catching over here. I do have to admit, I love that with the military healthcare that I have, I don’t have to consider cost in my decision making rubric.

Leave a Reply

