Twenty Two

The best thing that I can say about this week is that it is over. To celebrate Friday finally being here, I figured I’d join in on the Five things Friday, that seems to be pretty popular.

1. After finally getting our orders on Wednesday, we have our officially reserved plane tickets for our PCS. While I won’t post the exact date here for OPSEC purposes, I must admit full blown excitement to having an exact date to count down toward. Now we just need to get our pack out date and shipment plans for our car.

2. I grew so frustrated yesterday while trying to purchase B’s Christmas gift online. We’d found a watch for him on Macy’s website, and since he’s so picky, I saved it so I could get it for him. I fought with their website for fifteen minutes trying to create an account so I could purchase the watch, only to have the order cancelled as soon as it was placed. I called their fraud protection department as requested, spent another fifteen minutes on hold, only for them to determine that it was because my address/card are American, but my IP is Turkish. I was then transferred to a customer rep to complete my order over the phone, when our unreliable internet went out, dropping the Skype call. I promptly called back, reexplained the situation to the new customer rep, and was just about to give her my information when the internet again cut out. I only threw the headphones out of anger. Once my internet was back (it only cuts out for 15-20 seconds, but that’s obviously long enough to do the damage), I went to Amazon, where I found the same watch on sale for 50 dollars off. It’s like the happiest ending to internet shopping frustration ever.

3. I don’t think I want a smart phone when we move back to the US. I had one in Germany, briefly, and then have lived without one ever since. While I like having my iPod to be able to use the messenger service that works like a text, I also like being disconnected from the internet while out. Nothing makes me more sad, than to be with people and have them spend the entire time on their phone. I’m not in that culture now and I sort of fear rejoining it. I guess we’ll have to see what other kind of phone options we can find.

4. Black Friday is a seriously big deal in our house. We save up all year for our shopping splurge. Then we get to spend the next 2-4 weeks watching the packages come rolling in and delighting in checking mail. Seriously, I love checking mail when I know I have packages coming. Bring on the online shopping.

5. I started rereading the Belgariad by David Eddings today. It is one of my all-time favorites. It’s like reconnecting with an old friend who gets me like no one else does. They definitely helped today to fly by instead of dragging.

How was your week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twenty Two

  1. Army Amy says:

    The 8 short months that I lived in Germany, I didn’t have a smart phone, just a cheapy pay-as-you-go. When we got back to Texas, that’s what I opted to continue to do. It’s so much cheaper. I still take my iphone with me in case there is Wi-Fi or to take pictures, but it allows me to be more disconnected from the internet and more in the moment.

Leave a Reply

