Fifteen

Yesterday, something wonderful and amazing happened to me. I’m afraid that I won’t ever be able to do it justice in words, but I also want to set it in writing for me to have to read when I need a reminder of how awesome life can be.

This story starts in November of 2012. On the 20th of that month, a young woman was tragically taken from her family. Her mother, who had been helping her plan a wedding for November 2013, decided to start a wedding planning company, named in her daughter’s memory. She and her business partner decided, that every year in November, they would use the proceeds of their business to give a wedding dress to a bride.

I first learned of this, a couple of months back. It was posted to a military blog that I read, asking for military brides to send in their stories. I didn’t even think I would qualify. But something kept drawing me back, a voice kept whispering that there was no harm in entering. I awkwardly started typing our story, I would stop, leave it, ignore it, try to just walk away. Finally, on the last day they were taking submissions, I sent it in.

Yesterday, they emailed me to tell me they had selected me. They asked for my address to mail me the dress, a veil, and other wedding goodies. All they wanted in return, was for me to think of their daughter, to pass the dress on when I was done with it, and to share pictures of my wedding with them.

I’m still in shock.

I never win things. I’ve been terrified of this whole wedding dress shopping experience. And now, because of their amazing generosity and love out of tragedy, I’ve been given something far more than a wedding dress. I don’t know what it looks like, and I already love it. I’ve never met these people in my life, and I owe them so much.

The words thank you don’t seem strong enough to bear up how I feel. Instead, I know now that I will have to live my life and wait for the moment that I can pass on this act of kindness to another. I won’t ever be able to repay them their generosity, but I can pay it forward.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Getting Weddinged, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fifteen

  1. Mario says:

    Hi there! I am reaching out in regards to a question I have for you and the possibility of working together on something. Please email me when you get a chance! Thank you so much! trucillo(dot)mario(at)gmail(dot)com

    Mario

  2. This is incredible! And you’re so deserving of it. <3

  3. Alison V. says:

    That is so wonderful!

  4. Army Amy says:

    Congrats! How cool is that! You get to feel like a winner (doesn’t everyone like feeling like that once in a while) and you get a friggin wedding dress! The fact that you are so touched and grateful makes me think that they chose the right girl.

Leave a Reply

