Fourteen

Gratitude.

That’s November’s shtick, right? Be thankful. Tell everyone what you’re thankful for and spend time dwelling on your blessings. A large portion of my friends are participating in the month of thankfulness on Facebook and it’s interesting to see what makes their lists. Parents, spouses, children, friends, and pets all make frequent appearances.

Of course, there’s the argument that we should be grateful year round, but most of the people on my feed are. They’re the kind of people who do remember to think of the good things all year long. But, even if they weren’t. Even if they only took this month to list out their blessings, at least they’re doing that.

I always thought that the more you listed your blessings, the easier they would be to see. I’m not so sure about that now though. B and I have a nightly ritual where we tell the other person two things that we’re grateful for. Some days it’s easy, some days not so much. But it still makes us both stop and think about what it is that makes us grateful.

Today, I woke up to the news that two women, out of tragedy, have chosen to bless me. A daughter was lost, and today, in between what would have been her wedding day and the one year anniversary of her death, they have chosen to remember in love. Today, I am grateful to them, for their choice of life and love. I am grateful for the blessing they now are in my life.

What are you grateful for today?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Getting Weddinged, Life, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

