Eleven

NaBloPoMo November 2013Currently I am:

on the steps at the library in ephesus

on the steps at the library in ephesus

Feeling…

Excited for our move to North Dakota. I’ve been buying cute clothes, mainly jackets so far, to get ready for the cold. I’ve found that embracing the exciting aspects (getting a new car, buying new clothes, finding a new place to live, being back in the US) that it overwhelms the scarier parts (the freezing cold weather, finding a job).

Writing…

Addresses on STDs. I’ve been writing my hand off trying to get all of these ready to send out. My poor wrist was completely cramped up on Friday. Since then I’ve been waiting to get back the less formal names for B’s side of the family. I am not sending formally addressed STDs, I just can’t do it. I probably won’t even send formally addressed invitations, because this isn’t going to be a formal affair.

Reading…

I just finished re-reading Ender’s Game. After the travesty that was the movie, I needed the book in all its gloriousness. Now I’m trying to decide what to pick up, maybe some Stephen King, maybe some Scott Lynch.

Listening…

To the Mumford and Sons station on Pandora. I get nothing but good songs on that station. It actually makes me enjoy cleaning the house, because I crank the speakers on B’s computer and dance around while sweeping.

Eating…

Pumpkin donuts that a friend of mine made on Sunday. Fall flavored donuts are the best.

Wishing…

We could make it to London before leaving Turkey. I’m trying not to be bitter that things worked out this way, but I’m pretty bummed that I’m not going to make it up there. I have to look at it from the point of view that we did make the two big trips I wanted to take while living here (Cyprus and Greece). Still, I really do wish we could make it up there.

Enjoying…

Counting down to Black Friday. We save up money year round to spend during the big sales over the weekend. Technically, I’ve already made our first purchase with my down jacket that I bought yesterday. We don’t really have any big goals this year (in year’s past we’ve bought a grill, new speakers, and kitchen appliances) but that makes it more fun in a way because we have more freedom for impulse purchases.

Drinking…

Ooh, that’s a good idea. Today is a down day, thanks to the holiday, so quite possibly a vodka coke in a few minutes. Or some Riesling, because sweet white wine makes everything better.

Learning…

That I can’t rely on the approval or good opinion of others. B’s dad is a lawyer, and a very good one at that. Naturally, I sought his advice on becoming a paralegal. Unfortunately, the response was less than what I had hoped for. Still, I know this is a good decision for our family. I will be signing up in the next week or so to start a 14 week course in January to get my paralegal certificate. Crazy.

Thinking…

About how sad it is that people have lost common courtesy. I don’t think I’m old enough to reminisce about the good old days yet, but I find it really sad that people don’t bother to be courteous anymore. Facebook has led us to believe it’s okay to say that we’re “maybe” attending and never give a firmer answer. I’ve found it rarer and rarer to get strong affirmative or negatives on responses to anything from dinner invitations to showing up for their piano lessons.

Loving… 

All of the possibilities that the future holds.

What are you looking forward to this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

