Five

NaBloPoMo November 2013

STDs. Possibly my favorite acronym from the Wedding Industrial Complex (WIC). Save the Dates. They’re one of those optional, but not really things that are on the wedding planning checklist. It’s an opportunity to use your engagement photos, tout all the wedding photographers ever. It lets people know what date you’re planning to have your wedding, argue all the wedding planners ever.

at ephesus

at ephesus

The biggest argument in favor of STDs, in my opinion, was letting guests know about your wedding date in plenty of time. This is probably most useful with destination weddings. People can start to plan their vacation time, flights, hotels, etc. Even though we’re getting married in B’s hometown, it will be a destination wedding for everyone except two of the groomsmen. While I know that phone calls can easily put the date on the calendar, I still like the idea of giving people something that has the date on it.

formal night

formal night

A big negative for me was the lack of engagement pictures. B and I will hopefully be able to do our session with our photographer before the wedding. But we aren’t sure if that will happen or not given the destination status. With any luck we’ll be able to make a long weekend out of it, but certainly not in time to use the pictures for STDs.

the blue mosque

the blue mosque

Of course, I have a plethora of pictures of the two of us from the last few years. Our legal wedding ceremony, all of the vacation photos, there were plenty of options. I liked that these wouldn’t be formal, edited photos. Instead, they’re casual, accurate representations of us doing what we do.

at knossos palace, crete

at knossos palace, crete

My biggest problem was narrowing an ever growing selection down to the one I liked the best for the purpose. The above formal night photo, for example, might be too easily confused with a wedding announcement, thanks to our attire. Then it comes down to finding where the words will be placed and how that will affect the overall card.

on top of delos

on top of delos

I’ve had my STDs back for a couple of weeks now. I really should probably go ahead and mail them out. I’m not sure if it’s just laziness, or a full-on acknowledgment that we can’t back out once these cards are sent. Never mind all of the non-refundable deposits, it’s the STD in the mail that lets me know that this shit is real. Guess I’ll go address some cards now.

What acronyms make you smile?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Getting Weddinged, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five

  1. evalonne says:

    You can get STDs in the mail?! Outrageous! Hehehehe!

    Seriously, though, mail them. My fridge’s pictures and announcements are starting to get a little outdated.

    • Hahaha, mine too. Seems to be missing a birth announcement from a certain little guy…

      • evalonne says:

        You mean the birth announcements still sitting on my vanity? Guess I should mail that with B’s AUGUST birthday gift. Said little guy will be cleared for more public outings on Monday. He’s getting his shots then, so I’ll probably try to get stuff mailed on Wednesday or Thursday of next week.

      • Shots, shots, shots, shots, shots, shots!!! Everybody!!!

        Oh wait, not the fun kind of shots. And, uh, does that mean he’s two months old already? Where the heck did time go?

  2. evalonne says:

    Yeah. 8 weeks Wednesday, 2 months next Monday. O_O

Leave a Reply

