Weekly Wishes

turkish republic of northern cyprus

turkish republic of northern

 

Reflections – Lows:

The low point of this last week was definitely Thursday night. I’d been looking forward to going for sushi for a couple of weeks – we’d decided to go for our anniversary but wanted to wait for the half price night. And then what started as one friend wanting to have dinner with us turned into a huge group going. And then B’s coworker decided to be a jerkwad. It was definitely not how I thought the evening would go. Managing expectations for  me can be difficult. If I get it in my head how I expect something to go and it doesn’t work out that way, it tends to go poorly. I’m working on being more flexible, but that may just be an exercise in futility.

Reflections – Highs:

Getting my house all cleaned up and hanging more art was a definite positive this week. I love that I’m starting the week with an already clean house. Hanging up the art as well as some hooks to hold my purse, aprons, and the dog leashes, has just helped the house feel a touch more homey. I know we’re down to just over five months left here, but it’s never too late to work on feeling more settled.

We threw an awesome BBQ last night. We were welcoming in a new guy to the squadron and just had a low-key evening with the folks from our squadron. We had a massive downpour right before the event started, so I’m doubly glad I’d cleaned the house as we were stuck inside because of how wet it was outside.

We finally got the list for potential bases that we could move to next. There was all kinds of confusion with it at the beginning of the week. But now we know where we could be moving. B’s boss knows where we want to go and is supposed to make contact for us to see if he can’t secure us one of the spots ahead of time. Regardless we’ll be submitting our wish list by 10 September and then hopefully hearing before the end of October. I’m already pretty attached to one of the places on the list, but I’m trying to stay as objective and open as I can.

Intentions:

B and I have started our first weekly budget since getting married. We’ve always done fine with our money, paid off a shit ton of debt, and all. But, since becoming debt free last November, we’ve sort of struggled with just spending all our money. We have decent savings, but knowing we need to buy a car and pay for a wedding next year, we’ve tried harder recently at saving. It’s not that we’re doing badly on that regard, we just know we could do better. So we have a spreadsheet. And all the extra money from each “weekly” budget gets to go to a fun spending account to pay for things like a trip to London or Black Friday purchases.

I fell off the workout wagon last week, sort of. I’ve started walking with a friend of mine every day for an hour, but it’s not intense exercise by any stretch of the imagination. This week I want to get back into running for my cardio and doing my weight lifting. While still walking with my friend as I need that for my sanity if nothing else.

In keeping with being mindful of our spending up above, we’re also aiming to eat at home pretty much all week. We have a lot of leftovers that I know I need to eat. In addition, I bought the supplies for smoothies and need to commit to having one every morning for breakfast. It hasn’t been going so well for me trying to get up at 0600 with B, workout, walk with my friend, and not eat until lunch time. So yeah, there’s that.

What is something you want to accomplish this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. sarahlea443 says:

    Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

