Weekly Wishes

me and my Stereo

me and my Stereo

Reflections – Lows:

Another rough hormone week. I don’t know if I’m just more aware of it right now, if it’s more external factors, or if I need to look into changing my birth control; but this has not been a fun few weeks. I still think that stress is playing a major role and a massive hangover didn’t help matters one whit. I’m identifying behavioral patterns in myself that I don’t like and I’m working on isolating and correcting them. Here’s wishing for a week without a meltdown.

Everyone else who moves at the same time that we do now knows the bases available to them. We do not have that information yet. It’s still a week away. I understand that the process is slightly different between the officer and enlisted side of the house, but I can’t understand them not being able to give us a list of open jobs. It just stings to know that people moving three months after us have already been able to put in for their base and we’re still waiting to see what is available.

Reflections – Highs:

I was pretty terrified of this past weekend. B worked his first three day weekend (his schedule is weird) and it was my first week not working on Friday. I know that my fear of being lonely this weekend helped contributed to Thursday’s meltdown. And while Friday was a bit long and lonely, Saturday was an awesome day. I had aimed to make a trip to the women’s market with some friends, but bad GPS coordinates left us stranded without a chance to get there so we detoured to the mall. Cue a fun day of shopping and my scoring three dresses for seventy-five TL or roughly thirty-five dollars. We followed that up with dinner on the lake. All in all it was a huge success in terms of my not sitting at home bored, which is a recipe for a meltdown once B is home.

B and I had a really good conversation this past week about our travel plans for the remainder of our time here. With him only getting two weekends a month, but having those be three day weekends each time we had talked about jetting around Turkey. This next weekend marks our three year anniversary and I sort of figured on us traveling. Only problem being that my husband is over Turkey. So, instead of making a bunch of small weekend trips to places we really don’t care if we see or not, we’ve decided that after our cruise we’re going to aim for a big trip up to London in November. I get to see my Stereo and we both get to visit an awesome city and country. It’s nice to have us both on the same page and I’m excited to know that every weekend spent at home is money saved up to spend in London!

Obviously I’ve already blogged about my huge fitness compliment received this past week. The other huge gain on that ground is that I successfully ran for 25 minutes tonight and when it came time to stop, I felt like I could have kept running. That’s ten minutes added to my run in one weeks time.

Intentions:

Get through this next week without any major meltdowns. Utilize strategies and techniques to let myself calm down and be rational rather than reacting to things with snap emotions.

Keep running and add at least twenty minutes of cardio to my weight lifting days. It’s six weeks until I’m on my Greek cruise and I really do want to feel my best while on it. I feel so much stronger and more capable now and I just want to keep increasing that feeling.

I reached an epiphany while walking the dogs that drilled home with every step of my run tonight. My diet is doing me no favors. I eat such utter junk, that I really am undoing the benefits of working out. I mean, I’m getting stronger, faster, etc but I can’t out-train a bad diet. I’m also wondering how all of these crap foods are effecting my hormone swings/emotional imbalances. I’m flipping the switch. My hard line rules are no more sodas and no more fried foods. I’m also going to focus on eating veggies with both lunch and dinner.

Any advice for me as I try to change my diet?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Good idea re switching up your current diet. Healthy (and unhealthy!) eating has a HUGE impact on how you feel. Most people don’t realise how much can be corrected with a good diet, full of the right foods to provide energy which leads to better and balanced emotional states. Id say you are on the right track by trying just to eliminate fried foods and soda to start. Try and do too much and you will feel overwhelmed and give up! Try getting on green smoothies too – google for some great combinations. They pack a vitamin punch!!! Good luck :)

  2. Army Amy says:

    Congratulations on how you are doing with running! It sounds like that is starting to fall into place! Yeay! Are you on Daily Mile? I’m with you on diet. I swing back and forth between really wanting to eat healthy and not giving a crap. (I need to find a good medium.) I generally feel that a life without chips and salsa isn’t a life I want. Then again, do I really need to eat an entire bag of chips in two days? (See the problem?!) I find it harder to eliminate things and easier to make additions (drinking more water! Eating more veggies!) and swaps (carrots dipped in hummus instead of chips and salsa, some times.)

    It sucks no knowing where y’all will be moving, or could be moving to. I find the not knowing to be the hardest part. At least once you know, you can plan and get an image of what life will be like. Hang in there!

    • I’m not on Daily Mile – will it work over wifi/with an iPod as opposed to an actual cell phone? I might have to check it out.

      We have a bad tendency to eat an entire bag of chips (with salsa) in a single sitting. Which is definitely not healthy. I’m still trying to find a happy medium, but it really is easier said than done. I think I’m going to have to try more of the addition mindset, because the elimination one failed twenty-four hours in.

Leave a Reply

