More Than A Number

As I was walking down to the gym today to go lift weights, I was stopped by the husband of one of B’s coworkers. He didn’t even shut the door to his car, but wanted to come over and walk with me for a minute. He told me that he thinks people don’t say this enough, but he wanted me to know that he knows I’ve been going to the gym a lot recently and that he’s noticed my results.

Y’all I was floored. I can’t even see the results of the lifting and running most days, so it astounds me that someone else has.

I practically skipped the rest of the way to the gym. My confidence buoyed by the unexpected compliment, I made a beeline for the scale in the women’s locker room. I mean, obviously if someone noticed me looking better, I must be significantly lighter, right?

Wrong. I weighed in at the top of the range I’ve been hovering around. Which isn’t surprising at all given the circumstances. I stepped off the scale, after seeing a number that is where I expected it to be, and realized that I had a choice. I could be down because the numbers aren’t budging or I could stay buoyed by the compliment.

I chose the latter. I still want those numbers to go down. But I’m not going to give up just because they’re the same as they were last month. I’m more concerned with enjoying my lifting, learning to like running, and being healthier. That number is important to me, but I’m more than a number.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Than A Number

  1. CoreFit Fitness says:

    Excellent attitude and good work! Fat loss is by far more important than weight loss and by incorporating weights into your fitness routine, you are burning fat and gaining muscle. a person can actually be smaller but weigh more so ditch the scale and use a body fat analyzer instead. Keep it up and soak up those compliments :)

  2. Army Amy says:

    How nice of your husband’s coworker to take the time to compliment you! And how nice for you to know that the changes are visible! You are so right to not let the number on the scale equal your progress. You know that you are progressing (and other’s can see it to!). That progress is what is important.

    • Having someone else notice my progress was huge. And having it be the gym junkie out of the people we know also makes me feel good. It definitely helps for those days when the scale numbers don’t seem to match the progress.

Leave a Reply

