Weekly Wishes

Reflections – Lows:

This past week has been a bit of a rough one. B’s schedule was super crazy and I didn’t handle it all that well. Twice he didn’t make it home for lunch until two pm and a third day saw him home at ten am for it. Luckily that is behind us now.

I suffered from a major bout of insomnia on Friday night. Busy brain syndrome where I spent roughly four hours running through all possible wedding centerpiece combos from the items provided by the venue we’re using. Considering I still have thirteen months left before those will be assembled, it’s fair to say that I’m stressed right now. And not weddinged related stress. B’s schedule changed today and I’m apprehensive about it. Where we’re moving next is still up in the air and I’m ready to know already. Wedding dress shopping is a beast deserving its own post and soon.

Reflections – Highs:

I attended the inaugural meeting for a book club this past Tuesday night. Of course, we won’t let the fact that I was the only one to read the entire book get in the way of having a good evening. I was unaware that they only planned to read part of the book, which means that I have no reading to do for the club for the next couple of meetings. Still, it was a fun way to spend a couple of weeknight hours and I look forward to repeating the experience.

We took our puppies and some friends up to a canyon for hiking, which really just turned into playing in the river. My poor pups were exhausted from all of the rock chasing (what can I say, they love going after anything that splashes). Loki, our golden spent a good five to ten minutes swimming in circles while holding onto our friend’s walking stick.

This past week also saw us getting both the photographer and caterer booked for our ceremony next year. My in-laws went to a tasting for the caterer and we’re excited to work with them. We’re planning to throw a pig roast for the dinner, which excites me beyond belief. I’m slightly afraid that I’m planning a hipster wedding, but I really don’t care because it will be authentically us and fun.

I went from failing to run for five minutes straight to completing a run including three five minute repeats this past week. Finishing that last run had me do a little jump and shout of joy. Running has been my nemesis for awhile now and it’s nice to finally feel like I’m getting it. On my run on Wednesday, something just clicked and I went from checking the countdown timer every thirty seconds to feeling like I could keep running after five minutes. It was incredibly empowering.

Intentions:

Looking forward to this upcoming week, I want to make an effort to be flexible with adapting to B’s new schedule. He’s off Monday and Tuesday, but I’ll be working. I’m hoping to embody some grace for dealing with the long hours while he’s at work (I really dislike twelve hour shifts) and for giving him space during his off days.

On the fitness front, I already did my first run of this week a few minutes ago, but I have two more on schedule for this week. My goal with this new schedule of his is to work out Sunday through Friday with Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday being my runs and the other days being weight lifting.

On the weddinged planning side of the house, I’ve decided on what I think would be kick-ass favors that would cost next to nothing. I have this side hobby that I haven’t touched for a couple of years involving making lace and I have decided that I want to make lace bookmarks for every guest. It would fit with the vibe of our wedding and be intensely personal. That said, I need to get started this week if I want to not be rushed in making over one hundred bookmarks for next year.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    I hate those nights where you are tired and you want to sleep, but your mind just keeps turning and turning. I hope you’ve caught back up on your missed sleep since then.

    I’m especially glad to hear that you had a running breakthrough! I love it when run just clicks like that. I predict that there will be more in your future. Happy running!

    • I slept so much on Sunday. My excuse was making up the missing sleep from Friday night.

      And thanks! I’m looking forward to more running break throughs for sure. :)

Leave a Reply

